LibGuides: Psychology: PSYC 423: Learning Theories

Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
ERIC - Education Resources Information Center via EBSCO
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database contains more than 1.3 million records and provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index.
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a collection of nearly 520 education journals, including peer-reviewed titles and educational reports.
APA PsycARTICLES
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text scholarly articles published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group. The database covers a range of subjects such as general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research areas within psychology.
Teacher Reference Center
Indexing and abstracts for teacher and administrator journals and magazines.

All Databases
A link to all databases available through the library, including PsycINFO.

Class Handout

Determining Keywords and Search Tips

Books

I-Share Catalog
Find books from IIT and other universities here.

CRAAP Test

Not all websites were created equal. When determining how or if you should use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAAP test. Does the site pass the test, or is it a bunch of...?

Currency
- How recent is the information? Can you find a publication date?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
Relevance
- How does the information included relate to your topic?
- Was the information written for a general or a scholarly audience?
Authority
- Who is the creator or author? It might be an individual, an organization, or both.
- What are the author's credentials? I.e., what makes the author qualified to discuss this topic?
- Who is the publisher? What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
- What is the site's domain?
Accuracy
- Where does the information come from? Are there citations or references to back up claims?
- Has the information been peer-reviewed?
- Can you verify any of the information in another source or from personal knowledge?
- Are there grammar, spelling, or other errors on the page?
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion?
- Is it biased?
- Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

Credit: The CRAAP test was developed by the Meriam Library, California State University, Chico

See what others are saying

The CRAAP test is useful, but it's also a good idea to do a general Google search or check Wikipedia to see if there is anything else you should know about the site. Is there any indication that the information there might be biased?