Skip to main content

Illinois Tech Library Guides

PSYC 301: Industrial & Organizational Psychology

Use this guide to help find resources on IO Psychology

Search in Recommended Databases

Library databases: most preferred option

Pro tip:

Search more than one EBSCO-interface database by clicking on Choose Databases and selecting the databases you wish to search. Note that this method works only with keyword searching.

 

Google Scholar: less preferred

The search function is less sophisticated in Google Scholar. There is no way to search by specific discipline, so the number of results will be much higher, taking longer to sort through. It is also much harder to filter by specific journal(s), but if you prefer to use it, try the Advanced Search to apply a journal name and year. Note that only one journal can be used in the "published in" field at a time.

Apply Filters (only applicable to Library Databases)

1. Filter by approved journal

Option A: Add another line to your search with the approved journals. Copy and paste this text into its own line:

JN "Academy of Management Discoveries" OR JN "Academy of Management Journal" OR JN "Academy of Management Learning & Education" OR JN "Group & Organization Management" OR JN "Journal of Applied Psychology" OR JN "Journal of business & psychology" OR JN "journal of management" OR JN "Organizational Behavior & Human Decision Processes" OR JN "Personnel Psychology" OR JN "Leadership Quarterly"

Combine this with another line for your search term(s) in the search box, like this:

This will retrieve results with your keyword(s) AND that come only from the approved journals.

Option B: Apply a Publication filter after you search.

Locate the Publication field in the left menu and click Show More.

Then, you can sort by alphabetical order and choose the approved journals from the list by clicking on the checkboxes and then the Update button.


2. Filter by year

In the left-side menu, locate the Limit To box and enter your year limitations. Hit Enter.

 

Want to browse an approved journal?

This isn't the most efficient way to find an article, but if you'd like to see what's available in a certain journal, simply copy and paste it from the list (including the JN that appears before the journal name - this is required so that the database searches the correct field) and then filter by the required years.

JN "Academy of Management Discoveries" OR JN "Academy of Management Journal" OR JN "Academy of Management Learning & Education" OR JN "Group & Organization Management" OR JN "Journal of Applied Psychology" OR JN "Journal of business & psychology" OR JN "journal of management" OR JN "Organizational Behavior & Human Decision Processes" OR JN "Personnel Psychology" OR JN "Leadership Quarterly"

For example, if you know you're interested in the Journal of Business and Psychology, try this:

 

 

 

Obtain the PDF

You can either just click on the PDF link:

Or, you might see the Find Full Text link which will direct you to the correct location.

If we don't have access to an article, you can request it for free, but note that it can take about 4 business days to receive it, so plan ahead.