Skip to main content

Illinois Tech Library Guides

INTM-460-560: Home

Your Library Accounts

Student library accounts are created automatically. Sign in to your library account via your IIT Portal and password. This account gives you access to resources from the I-Share consortium: a group of more than 80 academic libraries in Illinois with access to more than 32 million items.

Sign in to your library account via your IIT Portal and password

With your account, you can:

  • Request books from 80 other universities in the I-Share Catalog
  • View checked out books
  • Renew books
  • See if there are any fines or holds on your account

Interlibrary Loan Account

IIT subscribes to more than 60,000 online journals, but there may be others that you need access to. You can get copies of those articles delivered to you electronically. You can also request any books not available in the I-share catalog from more than 8,000 libraries around the world. It usually takes 2-3 business days to have a journal article e-mailed to you. Books take longer (more than a week) because they have to be mailed and shipped from outside of Illinois. 

Search for items in the WorldCat catalog

Receive Galvin Library Announcements

Get the latest news on new library resources, workshops and services from automated mailings. Sign up here.

Doing Research

This guide brings together diverse resources to help you do research on topics for INTM-460-560. Don't let the number of resources intimidate you--you don't need to use them all. Each one will help you find information related to a different parts of the problem you're researching, such as economics, technical issues, ethics, governental regulation, etc.Below is a brief overview of what you'll find in each of the tabs of this guide:

  • Ethics: This provides resources specifically related to ethics in the professions.
  • Codes and Standards: Look here to find industry standards and government regualtions that affect developments in sustainability.
  • Journal Articles: This will help you find both technical and non-technical information that has been published in trade journals, newspapers, and research journals.
  • Conference Papers & Dissertations: These types of resources are often more current that journal articles, but cover basically the same topics.
  • Technical / Research Reports: Look here for the results of government-funded research. Don't let the name fool you, though--you can also find a wealth of non-technical information here, such as industry reports and economic data.
  • Patents: Patents provide information on the types of research being done in the corporate world.
  • Licensure: Provides information on professional licensure of engineers.
  • Data & Properties: Look here for basic data sets and material properties.
  • Case Studies and Other Resources: Case studies can provide a lot of useful practical information.
  • Books: Books are best used for providing a grounding in the topic.
  • Professional Societies & Other Resources: Professional societies and advocacy groups provide vast amounts of information to help their members and to influence public opinion and governent action.

Citation Management

Citation management tools enable researchers to capture "metadata" or information about the information and research sources they use, create bibliographies, add footnotes, and manage research collections.  Some citation management tools also make it easy to share references with other researchers. Two that the library supports are EndNote Web and Zotero. For more information on these see the library's Citation Management guide. For a listing of other citation management tools, see the Digital Research Tools (DiRT) website.

Read These Tips Before You Start

Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty.  Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.

1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database.  Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials.  When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user.  When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.

2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before.  Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before. 

3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches.  Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database.  Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.

3. There is no one perfect search.  Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.

4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog.  Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later.  The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time. 

5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want?  We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles.  These are fast and free services.  Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.

6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link.  We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem.  See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.