Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

New students: About Books and Journal Articles

A quick overview of the Galvin Library building and services.

Books

IIT Catalog

Undergraduates can check out up to 30 books at a time. Search for a book or e-book from the library website, or right here.  


Textbooks 

The library tries to have at least one copy of every undergraduate textbook available on reserve. They can be checked out for two hours at a time. You can look up books for your classes by the book title.


I-Share

IIT also belongs to a group of (mostly) univerisity libraries in Illinois that have agreed to share items with each other. Just select "All I-Share Libraries" to search that catalog instead. The books you order will be delivered to Galvin, and you'll get an email when they're available. You can also visit I-Share libraries during their visitor hours and check out books using your student ID. You can review I-Share books using the same library account. 


Interlibrary Loan

You can also order books (not textbooks) from libraries using the WorldCat catalog if you create an MyILL account.

These books can take up to three weeks to be delivered since they have to go through the mail. If you need books on a particular topic and not a specific title, just Ask a Librarian for help.

Other Stuff

The library also has anime, novelsgames, and 3D printers for when you need a break!

Journal Articles

The libary subscribes to over 150 databases to help you with your research. These contain millions of articles, encyclopedia entries and e-books that are accessible to current IIT students, faculty and staff. 

How do you you find the right database to use?


Find articles by subject, and use the related research guides to get additional information. You can also contact your subject specialist for help in that area.

Browse information by format, such as dissertations and reference sources. 


And you can always contact us for help:

(312) 567-3616

library@iit.edu

Use Instant Message! You can ask Galvin staff basic research questions from home or work. If the chat widget is displayed below, someone is available right now to answer your questions. 

 

 

Interlibrary Loan for Articles

Need a journal article that we don't have? Just log in to MyILL account and we will get you a copy free of charge.

Off-Campus Access

As long as you're an active Illinois Tech student, you should not have any problem accessing databases from off-campus. If you can access this database (from on or off campus), you'll be fine. 

If you're off campus and are having problems, contact the Office of Technology Services using the "ots support" link in the IIT portal. 

Tell Google Scholar you're an IIT student

When Google Scholar knows you're a part of Illinois Tech, it can link you directly to some of our subscription databases. Many database vendors allow Google to index their content; change your settings to make your searches more powerful. 

From your favorite browser, go to the Library Links section of the Google Scholar settings. Search for "IIT" and add any results you find for Illinois Tech. This will allow Google Scholar to access IIT's databases to locate your article in full-text.