Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Search Tools allow you to find articles by subject, author, keyword, or often other parameters. These are some of the best free tools. Please note that in most cases you will not be able to directly access the full text of articles you find, but will need to retrieve them from one of the open-access journal sites or from your library. The "Information by Subject" tab of this guide has a more comprehensive listing of search tools for different subject areas.
This is the U.S. Government's science portal. You can search multiple federal research indexes or link out to different agencies.
Covers biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Chemistry Portal
Chemistry resources covering such topics as Chemical Analysis, Chemical Engineering & Processing, Classical Analytical Chemistry, Forensics, Gas Metrology, Inorganic Analytical Chemistry, Microfluidics, Nuclear Analytical Chemistry, Organic Analytical Chemistry, Spectroscopy, Standard Reference Data, and Standard Reference Materials.
NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Physics Portals
Physics research at NIST (National Institute of Standards and Technology) includes everything from improving the safety of medical radiation procedures to developing future "quantum information" technologies that generate unbreakable codes. NIST provides the measurements, standards, and technical expertise scientists and industries need to push the limits of the fundamental properties of nature.
FREE resource. PubChem provides information on the biological activities of small molecules. It is a component of NIH's Molecular Libraries Roadmap Initiative. PubChem includes substance information,compound structures, and bioactivity data in three primary databases, PCSubstance, PCCompound, and PCBioAssay, respectively. PCSubstance contains more than 12 million records; PCCompound contains more than 8 million unique structures; PCBioAssay contains more than 300 bioassays. Each bioassay contains a various number of data points.
A digital library focusing on computer and information science.
Zentralblatt MATH covers mathematics. It displays only a limited number of results for free, but is still useful.
Many publishers of scientific and technical information allow you to search their content for free, even though they don't allow you to read their articles or papers for free. The following is a list of major scientific and technical publishers that allow free searching but not free access to the content.
SciTation covers all areas of science and technology.
IEEE Xplore covers electrical engineering, computer engineering, biomedical engineering, and physics.
ACM Digital Library
ACM Digital Library covers computer science and information technology.
These are some free search tools for finding books. Books are seldom available for free due to copyright, unless they were published more than 90 years ago.
Google Book Search
Search the full-text of books digitized by Google. Some full text available
WorldCat is the most comprehensive book search tool in the world. Using WorldCat you will be able to find nearly every book on your topic, but some titles may be difficult to obtain.