Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Illinois Tech Library Guides

Library Apps: Reference

Useful apps for your research and studies (note: not all apps are free)

Reference Apps

Dictionary.com-Dictionary & Thesaurus

The free Dictionary.com app delivers trusted reference content from Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com, including nearly 1,000,000 words and definitions and 90,000 synonyms and antonyms. No Internet connection is needed. The app also features audio pronunciations, similarly spelled words and Dictionary.com’s popular Word of the Day that is enjoyed by millions of people. Also for: 

CourseNotes

You can organize your notes by subject, class and time. Plus, the search feature helps you find and access relevant information easily. Have trouble prioritizing your language studies? Use the to-do-list and assignment features to keep on track. This is the must-have app for the “organized” student!

iSource APA

CITATION GENERATION
Generate Bibliography Entries for Book, TV & Film, Online, and Journal resources. Not all resource information is needed. iSource automatically adjusts the citation per the information you enter.

 

iSource MLA

CITATION GENERATION
Generate Bibliography Entries for Book, TV & Film, Online, and Journal resources. Not all resource information is needed. iSource automatically adjusts the citation per the information you enter.

 

GoodReader for iPad

Super-robust PDF reader with advanced reading, annotating, markup and highlighting capabilities, excellent file manager, TXT file reader and editor, audio/video player, Safari-like viewer for MS Office and iWorks files.

 

iStudiez Pro

A good organizer for college students. Color coding, subject headings, classwork organizer and due date planner are all part of an ap that fits the bill for an all encompassing tool. Reminders of when projects are due can be scheduled along with notifications in e-mail. The ap also summarizes your daily, weekly and semester projects, giving an idea of the status of each. iStudiezPro is perfect for college courses and keeping your research and writing assignments organized.

Mendeley-Reference Manager (Lite)

Mendeley is academic software that indexes and organizes all of your PDF documents and research papers into your own personal digital library. It gathers document details from your PDFs allowing you to effortlessly search, organize and cite. It also looks up PubMed, CrossRef, DOIs and other related document details automatically, importing papers quickly and easily from resources such as Google Scholar, ACM, IEEE and many more at the click of a button.

 

Mango Mobile Library Edition

Mango Mobile Library Edition is a powerful language learning platform that can help you learn languages like Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian, Russian and more. You can get free access to more than 34 foreign language courses and 14 English as a second language courses through your profile account. Go to the Mango languages database page to create your profile. Also for: 

 

Get help from the Research Help Office.

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: library@iit.edu