Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science Databases from A-Z list widget
Political Science Databases
These databases are great places to look to find information about political science. Check out the Databases page to see a
full list of databases.
Academic Search Complete
Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
Business Source Complete A good database for economic research, public administration, corporations and government, and other business-related aspects of political science.
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
Publications on theory and research in international affairs.
CIA World Factbook
Country information: maps, history, economics, society, etc.
JSTOR A database of scholarly journals, many relating to political science. Titles include: PS, Political Science Quarterly, and, Journal of Democracy. This database contains all full-text articles, but does not keep the most recent 5 years of any journal.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network
A large, mostly free public website with abstracts for over 230,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and more than 189,300 downloadable full text documents in all areas of political science.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Engineering and Government Information Librarian
, Aerospace Engineering
, Autonomous Systems and Robotics
, Government Documents
, Health Physics
, Manufacturing Engineering
, Materials Science & Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Mechanical, Materials, & Aerospace Engineering
, Political Science
, Public Administration
, Scholarly Communication
What are articles good for?
Articles are great for when you want to find the most current research on your topic or when you need detailed information about very specific subject. There are many types of articles. Some are written by scholars and undergo rigorous peer review; others are written by journalists in the industry and do not face the same scrutiny. You'll find articles from journals and newspapers, as well as conference reports, book reviews, editorials, and popular magazines inside our databases. invisible