Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Chemist’s companion: a handbook of practical data, techniques, and references by
Call Number: REF.QD65.G64
Concise encyclopedia of chemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD4.A23131994
"ABC Chemie" revised and translated from the original German by Mary Eagleson offers an overall view of the wide field of chemistry in a handy, compact volume. Topics are arranged alphabetically and include acronyms, chemical substances, and classes of chemical compounds, as well as general subjects in chemistry.
Encyclopedia of catalysis by
Call Number: REF.QD505.E532003
6 volumes. Definitive reference work on catalysis, the speeding up of a chemical reaction by a substance which itself does not react.
Encyclopedia of electrochemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD552.5.E532001
Volume 1: Thermodynamics and Electrified Interfaces (Editors: Eliezer Gileadi, Micheal Urbakh)
Volume 2: Interfacial Kinetics and Mass Transport (Editor: Ernesto Julio Calvo)
Volume 3: Instrumentation and Electroanalytical Chemistry (Editor: Pat Unwin)
Volume 4: Corrosion and Oxide Films (Editors: Martin Stratmann, Gerald S. Frankel)
Volume 5: Electrochemical Engineering (Editor: Digby D. Macdonald)
Volume 6: Semiconductor Electrodes and Photoelectrochemistry (Editor: Stuart Licht)
Volume 7: Inorganic Electrochemistry (Editors: William E. Geiger, Chris Pickett)
Volume 8: Organic Electrochemistry (Editor: Hans J. Schdfer)
Volume 9: Bioelectrochemistry (Editor: George S. Wilson)
Volume 10: Modified Electrodes (Editors: Israel Rubinstein, Masamichi Fujihira)
Volume 11: Index
Encyclopedia of inorganic chemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD148.E531994
Examines the six major areas of inorganic chemistry: physical and theoretical methods, organometallic chemistry, main group elements, solid state chemistry, transition metals and bioinorganic chemistry.
Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD4.M331997
Offers readers a complete overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It enables them to obtain a basic yet thorough understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it and scientists who have been critical in the development of the field.
Van Nostrand’s encyclopedia of chemistry by
Call Number: REF.QD4.V362005
In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics.
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616