Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What are articles good for?
Articles are great for when you want to find the most current research on your topic or when you need detailed information about very specific subject. There are many types of articles. Some are written by scholars and undergo rigorous peer review; others are written by journalists in the industry and do not face the same scrutiny. You'll find articles from journals and newspapers, as well as conference reports, book reviews, editorials, and popular magazines inside our databases.
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616
These databases are great places to look to find information about Chemistry. Check out the Databases page to see a full list of databases.
Web of Science One of the world's leading literature sources in the sciences, social sciences, biology, arts and humanities. Also includes proceedings from conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops and conventions.
PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. PubMed is a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine that includes over 24 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. PubMed includes links to over 3 million full text articles and other related resources.
ACS - American Chemical Society
Online repository of peer-reviewed research journals published by the American Chemical Society, covering all aspects of chemistry and chemical sciences.
ProQuest SciTech Collection This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
Academic Search Complete Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.
Dissertations and Theses Online database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full-text is available for many items, and ordering/purchasing information is included for those items with no full-text.
Database of research covering all areas of medicine, health care, and pharmacology.
Full text scientific research database focusing on science, technology and medicine while also stocking certain humanities publications.
Provides electronic access to the complete contents of a growing collection of SpringerLink journals in subjects including Mathematics and Computer Science (formerly Kluwer Journals).
Publishers of 1500 journals, Wiley Online Library hosts a broad multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Find a specific article
Need to find a specific article quickly? The Articles by Citation form will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article.