LibGuides: Social Sciences: Articles and Databases

Recommended Databases

These databases are great places to look to find information about social sciences and sociology.

Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a multidisciplinary database offering full-text access to thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, newspapers, and other publications across a wide range of academic disciplines, including social science, humanities, computer science, engineering, physics, chemistry, and more. A good place to begin researching a topic.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is IIT's largest business database, offering full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports on a wide range of business-related topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Includes company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, and market research reports. An invaluable resource for researchers seeking current and historical business information.
APA PsycINFO
APA PsycINFO is a specialized database focusing on behavioral and social sciences, providing access to a vast collection of psychological literature and research in the form of journal articles, books, dissertations, and technical reports. An essential resource for researchers in psychology and related fields.
JSTOR
JSTOR is a database offering access to a large collection of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources across multiple disciplines. It provides researchers, students, and scholars with full-text access to archival and current content from various fields including humanities, social sciences, and sciences, making it a crucial resource for literature reviews and historical research.
SAGE Journals Online
A collection of over 450 online, peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly content in many disciplines including Management and Organization Studies, Communication Studies, Psychology and Sociology. Full-text available from 1999-present.

SSRN - Social Science Research Network
A large, mostly free public website with abstracts for over 230,900 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and more than 189,300 downloadable full text documents in all areas of social and political science.

Set Up Google Scholar

Screenshot of Google Scholar homepage with arrow pointing to the button to open the right side menu

Open the sidebar menu by clicking on the three lines in the upper left corner

Screenshot with arrow indicating where to find the

Click on "Settings" from the right sidebar menu

Screenshot of Google Scholar indicating where to find the link to

Navigate to your "Library Links" page

Select "Library Links" from the right sidebar menu, and search "Illinois Institute of Technology" in the search bar in the middle of the page.

Screenshot of Google Scholar showing the appropriate boxes checked

Add Illinois Tech's library links

Check the boxes next to "Illinois Institute of Technology - Find Full Text -> IIT" and "ILLINOIS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY - MAIN CAMPUS - ProQuest Fulltext" and hit "Save"

Search for articles

Now when you search for articles, you should see "Find Full Text -> IIT" to the right of some of your results. Click on it to be redirected to the Illinois Tech catalog to access the article.