It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sustainability: Alternative Fuels
A guide to finding resources related to topics such as wind & solar energy, electric ower, alternative fuels, green buildings & construction, and water resources.
The mission of WISER is to continue to improve the quality of life in our nation while preserving our natural resources and the environment for future generations. Fulfillment of this mission will reduce our nation’s dependence on foreign energy and, at the same time, provide our nation with sufficient affordable domestic sources of clean energy.
The Fluid Dynamics Research Center (FDRC) is a division of the Mechanical, Materials and Aerospace Engineering Department (MMAE) of the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT). The FDRC was established in 1985 to continue the tradition of research in fluid dynamics begun by the pioneering work of Dr. Mark Morkovin and Dr. Andrew Fejer carried out at Illinois Institute of Technology in the 1960s. Faculty and researchers have established a tradition of excellence in research, particularly through t
Research activities in Advanced Thermal and Environmental Systems Research Laboratory (ATESR LAB) addresses both futuristic power and propulsion systems that are still in development, as well as improving the performance of decades old combustion systems to achieve new environmental friendliness.
EPPEC is a leading academic facility to address the pertinent national and international needs for developing hardware and software technologies for electric power and power electronic engineering applications.
The Alternative Fuels and Advanced Vehicles Data Center (AFDC, formerly known as the Alternative Fuels Data Center) provides a wide range of information and resources to enable the use of alternative fuels (as defined by the Energy Policy Act of 1992), in addition to other petroleum reduction options such as advanced vehicles, fuel blends, idle reduction, and fuel economy.
"The database contains bibliographic references to and abstracts of journal articles, reports, conference papers, books, websites, and other miscellaneous document types. A link to where the full text can be obtained is also provided within the records when at all possible. More information about full text access is described in the Full-Text Literature section. The subject areas covered in the database are quite extensive. Some of the main areas include information on energy R&D; energy policy and planning; basic sciences (e.g., physics, chemistry and biomedical) and materials research; the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy conservation; nuclear (e.g., reactors, isotopes, waste management); coal and fossil fuels; renewable energy technologies (e.g., solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydro) and much, much more. For more details, including a look at content in various areas over the past five years, see the Subject Contents section.
In addition to the energy research and technology information from member countries, the database contains citations published worldwide regarding nuclear, coal, and global climate change information. This broader coverage comes through cooperation with other international organizations. Users of ETDE's Energy Database are as diverse as the topics covered: scientists/researchers, engineers, policymakers, information specialists, librarians, industry leaders and university faculty/students."
Free public access to over 200,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.
The Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 200,000 full-text documents and 3,000,000 bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.
The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.
Add a list of links to the databases that are recommended for this subject.
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Inspec, created by the IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers), is the leading bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computing, information technology, manufacturing, production and mechanical engineering. INSPEC also provides significant coverage in related disciplines such as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and many more. This database indexes ACM, IEEE, and SIAM publications, so it's a good one-stop search interface.
ProQuest SciTech CollectionThis huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
SciFinder is the premier research tool for chemical, biological, biomedical, and related scientific information. It includes:
* Patent and journal references. Over 36 million references to more than 9,000 scientific and technical journals from 1907 to the present.
* Substance information. More than 23 million organic and inorganic substances and more than 43 million sequences.
* Regulated chemicals. Provides information on more than 200,000 inventoried or regulated chemicals.
* Chemical reactions. Information about more than 8 million single- and multi-step reactions from 1840 to the present.
* Chemical supplier information. Provides information about more than 7 million commercially available chemicals and their worldwide suppliers.
To use SciFinder, you will need to download and install the client software on your local computer.
This is the official website of the United States patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The USPTO website has full images of all U.S. Patents beginning in 1790, but they are full-text searchable only back to 1976.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to your research.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to your research. The citation index allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article. This is a good database to use if you have an article of interest and want to expand your search to related documents. Links to related articles are provided.
Note: Limited to three (3) concurrent users
The European Patent Office hosts a database of world patents. All patents in the database are full-text searchable, but the date range covered varies from country to country. U.S patents are covered back to about 1920.
It is important to review patents from other countries when conducting a patent search or for a thorough literature search. The German and Japanese patent offices are much faster at approving and posting patents than is the US Patent Office. Thus, searching world patents can result in newer, more cutting-edge research.