Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Marcel Breuer Digital Archives at Syracuse University
Mostly unpublished architectural drawings and sketches by architect, designer and Bauhaus legend Marcel Breuer (1902-1981). These drawings were donated to Syracuse University Library by Breuer's widow in 2002.
World's Columbian Exhibition of 1893
This archive provides access to thousands of illustrations and full-text images related to the Chicago World's Fair of 1893. The site highlights four works focusing on various aspects of the fair: "The Dream City: a portfolio of photographic views of the World's Columbian Exposition";"The Vanishing Fair"; The Book of the Fair"; and
"Art and Architecture", all published between 1893 and 1894.
Archival sound recordings of architects in their own words.
History and Theory on the Web
The Historic American Buildings Survey/ Historic American Engineering Record
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) collections are among the largest and most heavily used in the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress. Since 2000, documentation from the Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) has been added to the holdings. The collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types.
Canadian Centre for Architecture
The CCA holds one of the world’s foremost international research collections of publications, conceptual studies, drawings, plans, models, prints, photographs, architectural archives, related artifacts and ephemera.
Architecture and Interior Design for 20th Century America
The Gottscho-Schleisner Collection is comprised of over 29,000 images primarily of architectural subjects, including interiors and exteriors of homes, stores, offices, factories, historic buildings, and other structures. Subjects are concentrated chiefly in the northeastern United States, especially the New York City area, and Florida. Included are the homes of notable Americans, such as Raymond Loewy, and of several U.S. presidents, as well as color images of the 1939-40 New York World's Fair.
Society of Architectural Historians
The Society of Architectural Historians promotes the study and preservation of the built environment worldwide. The site includes an electronic Guide to Graduate Degree Programs in Architectural History in the United States and Canada.
PLACES: Forum of design for the Design for the Public Realm
Places aims to foster debate about environmental design from the discussion of buildings, landscapes and art projects as singular, visual objects to the consequences they have in the environments that surround our lives.
Footprint, published by the Delft School of Design, presents research regarding architecture and the urban. From this perspective, the journal encourages the study of architecture and the urban environment as a means of comprehending culture and society, and as a tool for relating them to shifting ideological doctrines and philosophical ideas. The journal promotes the creation and development – or revision - of conceptual frameworks and methods of inquiry.
A site focusing on the special collections of the Research Library at the Getty Research Institute examining images of ruins as both symbols of decay and emblems of continuity over time.
Polar Inertia is a free resource for ongoing research into the networks and patterns that define the contemporary city, featuring photo essays of city structures from the esoteric to the sublime.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.