It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Graham Resource Center Research Guide: Sustainability
"The Energy Citations Database (1943 – Present) was developed by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI) to improve access to Departmental and predecessor agency scientific and technical information"
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.6 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 221,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
ECD includes scientific and technical research results in disciplines of interest to DOE such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes bibliographic citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents.
ECD was created and developed by DOE’s Office of Scientific and Technical Information with the science-attentive citizen in mind. It contains energy and energy‑related scientific and technical information collected by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research & Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission (AEC).
"The database contains bibliographic references to and abstracts of journal articles, reports, conference papers, books, websites, and other miscellaneous document types. A link to where the full text can be obtained is also provided within the records when at all possible. More information about full text access is described in the Full-Text Literature section. The subject areas covered in the database are quite extensive. Some of the main areas include information on energy R&D; energy policy and planning; basic sciences (e.g., physics, chemistry and biomedical) and materials research; the environmental impact of energy production and use, including climate change; energy conservation; nuclear (e.g., reactors, isotopes, waste management); coal and fossil fuels; renewable energy technologies (e.g., solar, wind, biomass, geothermal, hydro) and much, much more. For more details, including a look at content in various areas over the past five years, see the Subject Contents section.
In addition to the energy research and technology information from member countries, the database contains citations published worldwide regarding nuclear, coal, and global climate change information. This broader coverage comes through cooperation with other international organizations. Users of ETDE's Energy Database are as diverse as the topics covered: scientists/researchers, engineers, policymakers, information specialists, librarians, industry leaders and university faculty/students."
Free public access to over 200,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.
The Information Bridge: DOE Scientific and Technical Information provides free public access to over 200,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature. Documents are primarily from 1991 forward and were produced by DOE, the DOE contractor community, and/or DOE grantees. Legacy documents are added as they become available in electronic format.
The Information Bridge contains documents and citations in physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental sciences, energy technologies, engineering, computer and information science, renewable energy, and other topics of interest related to DOE's mission.
The WBDG is a web-based portal providing one-stop access to up-to-date information on a wide range of building-related guidance, criteria and technology from a 'whole buildings' perspective. It is made available by the National Institute of Building Sciences.
A panel discussion at the National Building Museum. Learn about the future of urban food production with Robin Osler, Elmslie Osler Architects; Dickson Despommier, Professor of Public Health, Columbia University; Carolyn Steel, Author of Hungry City: How Food Shapes Our Lives; and J. William Thompson, FASLA , editor, Landscape Architecture magazine.
Bob Eisenman, executive director, Global Health and Safety Initiative; Robin Guenther, architect and co-author of Sustainable Healthcare Architecture; Roger S. Ulrich, Ph.D., director, Center for Health Systems and Design, Texas A&M University; and moderator Joanne Silberner, health policy correspondent, National Public Radio discuss why a green hospital is a healthier one.
In James Howard Kunstler's view, public spaces should be inspired centers of civic life and the physical manifestation of the common good. Instead, he argues, what we have in America is a nation of places not worth caring about.
DSIRE is a comprehensive source of information on state, local, utility, and federal incentives and policies that promote renewable energy and energy efficiency. Established in 1995, DSIRE is an ongoing project of the NC Solar Center and the Interstate Renewable Energy Council funded by the U.S. Department of Energy.
The ATHENA EcoCalculator for Assemblies provides instant Life Cycle Assessment results for common building assemblies. It was commissioned by the Green Building Initiative in order to make LCA more accessible to the mainstream design community, and can be downloaded free of charge.
Delta creates, funds and implements programs that promote a healthy environment, a strong economy and thriving, vibrant communities. Working together with diverse partners from across the Great Lakes Region, we are blazing a trail for the green economy.
The ReBuilding Exchange provides a resource for affordable, green building materials, education and training opportunities, technical assistance on designing and building with reclaimed materials, and helps foster community-based rebuilding projects.
This huge database is "the ultimate science and technology research solution, combining full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more."
GreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
This is the official website of the United States patent and Trademark Office (USPTO). The USPTO website has full images of all U.S. Patents beginning in 1790, but they are full-text searchable only back to 1976.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to your research.
Web of Science provides access to current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious, high-impact research journals in the world. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, you can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to your research. The citation index allows you to see (a) all the references cited by the article, and (b) what other articles have cited the article. This is a good database to use if you have an article of interest and want to expand your search to related documents. Links to related articles are provided.
Note: Limited to three (3) concurrent users
The European Patent Office hosts a database of world patents. All patents in the database are full-text searchable, but the date range covered varies from country to country. U.S patents are covered back to about 1920.
It is important to review patents from other countries when conducting a patent search or for a thorough literature search. The German and Japanese patent offices are much faster at approving and posting patents than is the US Patent Office. Thus, searching world patents can result in newer, more cutting-edge research.