Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering Ethics Centers & Programs
Anthologies and Introductory Books on Engineering Ethics
Engineering Ethics : Concepts and Cases by
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
This is an extremely good text for beginning readings and cases. Includes a large number of case studies and sections on engineers in organizations, environmental ethics, international issues, risk and liability in engineering, and wider social issues connected with engineering.
Introduction to Engineering Ethics by
Publication Date: 2009-02-18
Introductory text including a handful of case studies, an introduction to moral reasoning and ethical theories, and short sections on environmental ethics, weapons development, workplace responsibilities and rights, and global issues.
Ethical Issues in Engineering by
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.E831991
Publication Date: 1990-10-01
This anthology includes a number of readings divided in sections such as the"engineer's responsibility to society" and "obligations of loyalty to employer." Each section is accompanied by a number of related case studies.
Thinking Like an Engineer by
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.D321998
Publication Date: 1998-06-18
This book asks two main questions. What is engineering? and, What ethical principles should guide engineers? The books examines the profession of engineering, the role a code of ethics plays in the profession, professional autonomy, and ways to approach an ethical issue. Davis also examines the Challenger space shuttle disaster, and the dual roles engineers often hold in an organization.
Hold Paramount by
Call Number: CSEP.TA157.G872003
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Written in the form of a novel, this book examines a different area of engineering ethics in each chapter, and includes side boxes that discuss the issues encountered by characters in more detail.
Other Online Resources
Engineering Ethics Bibliographies
A collection of bibliographies developed by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the professions dealing with sustainability, social justice and engineering, legal issues, and professionalism.
Engineering Ethics Blog
A blog about current issues in the field of engineering, by Karl Stephan, a practicing engineer who also teaching as the University of Texas, San Marcos.
An incredible collection of resources on ethics in science and engineering. Includes thousands of case studies, articles and other materials on issues such as professionalism, public safety, whistleblowing, etc.
Module Series in Applied Ethics
This series of booklets introduces readers to some of the main issues in professional ethics, including conflict of interest, whistleblowing, issues of loyalty to employers and clients, and technology assessment. Booklets focus on engineering.
The following is a list of all electronic resources that are relevant to engineering ethics.
For a list of all databases for all subjects, click here.
Citations from all areas of philosophy, including engineering ethics. Extremely helpful for articles focusing on the moral aspects of engineering practice.
Academic Search Premier
An extremely good database for finding articles dealing with engineering ethics as written by engineers as well as philosophers.
Search for ethics-related articles and conference papers in the areas of electrical engineering and computer science.
Journals on Engineering Ethics
IEEE Technology and Society Magazine
Magazine looking at ethical and societal implications of computer science, electrical and computer engineering, big data, and other technologies.
Science and Engineering Ethics
An excellent journal that looks at all aspects of ethics in science and engineering, including computer science, artificial intelligence, and the information sciences.
Internships in engineering that give students the opportunity to see the social impact of engineering practice.
Washingtion Internships for Student Engineers
Sponsored in part by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, this program allows engineering students entering their final year of undergraduate studies are selected to conduct research on a public policy issue for 10 weeks during the summer in Washington, D.C.