Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
Temporarily Free Resources
Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, many publishers and vendors have broadened their access. This page will be updated regularly as more resources become available.
Need help on finding free online resources or Open Textbooks for your course? Contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Duke University Press Reading List
At Duke University Press, we see scholarship as a powerful basis for understanding our current sociopolitical climate and working toward a brighter future. With this in mind, we’re glad to present staff-curated syllabi of incisive work on today's most critical issues, from climate change to police violence to immigration.
We encourage you to read and share the content we’ve selected, and we hope you find it valuable in preparing courses. All journal articles and issues in these syllabi are freely available online until September 30, 2020.
Cengage is offering students free access to all our digital platforms and 14,000 ebooks through Cengage Unlimited, for the remainder of this semester.
Requires users to create an account for use.
Elsevier Science Direct Ebooks
We have made all textbooks freely accessible to ScienceDirect customers to support students and lecturers whose classes have moved from campus to online. Visit the list of titles, now available to access.
Knowledge Bank: The Ohio State University Press
A collection of titles published by The Ohio State University Press. The full text can be accessed for publications that currently are not in a traditional paper edition. Materials from 2015-2020 openly available.
University of Michigan Press
In response to the request of the International Coalition of Library Consortia (ICOLC) for “creative solutions that allows critical access to publisher content for the research and public health communities,” University of Michigan Press will make all content in the University of Michigan Press Ebook Collection (UMP EBC) free-to-read for the remainder of the academic term.
Beginning on Friday, March 20, access restrictions will be removed for all 1,150+ titles in the UMP EBC until the end of August 2020. The UMP EBC contains the Press’s scholarly output published since 2012 as well as new books and older titles as they are digitized.
Springer Nature Textbooks
Institutions will be able to access more than 500 key textbooks across Springer Nature’s eBook subject collections for free.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Bloomsbury Design Library offers cross-searchable access to the full text of the Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design (three volumes), Victor Margolin's World History of Design (two volumes), the Encyclopedia of Asian Design (two volumes), over 100 biographies of key figures, an interactive timeline, and an expanding range of eBooks (currently over 100 titles available).
Journals and Databases
To support our institutions during this challenging time, JSTOR and our participating publishers are making an expanded set of content freely available to our participating institutions where students have been displaced due to COVID-19. Valid until December 31, 2020.
Available free for all, regardless of subscription status.
VoxGov is a unique “discovery platform” which aggregates a broad range of official and ephemeral information resources issued by individual representatives and organizations from all branches of the U.S. Federal Government, and links that content to publicly accessible government documentation. It is an online subscription-based service primarily used for Political Science and Public Policy research.
VoxGov's 62M documents come from approximately 8500 sources and located from across 600,000 + website locations, including approximately 45,000 unique government web locations as well as social media sites of government representatives and agencies. The provider facilitates continuous daily indexing, and cache web content including “information that is no longer retrievable.” VoxGov assert that many governmental press releases, as well as social media posts, have “never before been aggregated, much less collected in real-time.”
Available until August 31, 2021
O'Reilly for Higher Education
With O’Reilly online learning, your teams get on-demand access to the latest O’Reilly books, videos, live training courses, expert playlists, and interactive learning scenarios.
Valid until October 18.
Try-It! Illinois offers the staffs and library users of the more than 5,000 ILLINET member libraries the opportunity to survey and evaluate a wide variety of electronic resources.