Skip to Main Content

Manufacturing Engineering

A guide to Manufacturing Engineering resources including research papers, articles, data, material properties, codes, standards, patents, & product information.

Resources for Current Students, Faculty, and Staff at Illinois Tech

Galvin Library subscribes to numerous research databases on behalf of current students, faculty, and staff, as well as to any other users having access to the University's WiFi network or the EduRoam network while on campus. Regrettably, because of publishers' licensing restrictions on subscribed resources, we cannot provide remote access to subscribed resources for alumni or others. Alumni and others are encouraged to use the "Resources for Alumni & Others" tab to find resources available to them from off-campus.

Below is a list of the ten most relevant and/or most useful databases, in alphabetical order. For more options, see the sub-tabs under "Resources for Current Students, Faculty, & Staff" for lists of resources by information type.

Top Ten Research Databases for Manufacturing Engineering

  • ACM Digital Library - Association for Computing Machinery
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet
    This database contains research papers, articles, news, journals and all other publications ever published by ACM. Content within the database primarily relates to computer science within different academic fields. The database can be browsed by topic or literature type. The advanced search function allows for specific queries by keyword, institutional affiliation, conference, among other useful features.
  • Business Source Ultimate
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet Featured

    Business Source Ultimate is IIT's largest business database, offering full-text access to thousands of scholarly journals, trade publications, and industry reports on a wide range of business-related topics including management, economics, finance, accounting, and marketing. Includes company profiles, case studies, SWOT analyses, and market research reports. An invaluable resource for researchers seeking current and historical business information.

  • IEEE Xplore - Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet Featured

    IEEE Xplore is a database providing access to cutting-edge technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and related fields. It offers full-text access to millions of documents from IEEE journals, conferences, standards, and other publications, making it an invaluable resource for engineers, researchers, and students seeking the latest advancements in technology and applied sciences. 

  • Illinois Tech Library Catalog
    • Free to search. Full-text content likely to be paywalled or restricted to Illinois Tech
    Best Bet
    The library catalog searches through all of Illinois Tech’s physical library holdings and hundreds of thousands of digital titles available through our databases and digital collections. Sign in to your Illinois Tech Library account to access all available materials and review your current loans, requests, fees, blocks, messages, and other personal details.
  • IQS (Industrial Quick Search) Directory
    • Free or Open Access Resource. Unrestricted public access.
    Best Bet
    IQS Directory is a FREE, comprehensive listing of manufacturers and suppliers serving major segments of the OEM industrial manufacturing marketplace across the United States and Canada. Industrial engineers and buyers rely on IQS Directory to specify products within a series of categories and buy products directly from manufacturers.
  • Papers First
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet
    An index of papers presented at conferences. Includes every congress, conference, exposition, workshop, symposium, and meeting received at the British Library.
  • PATENTSCOPE
    • Free or Open Access Resource. Unrestricted public access.
    Best Bet
    PATENTSCOPE is a searchable database 84 million worldwide patent documents including 3.8 million published international patent applications (PCT). Be signing up for a FREE account, users are able to search chemical patents by structure and have access to PATENTSCOPE's cutting edge translation tools for accessing patents in other languages. PATENTSCOPE is a service of WIPO, the World Intellectual Property Organization, an agency of the United Nations.
  • ProQuest SciTech Collection
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet Featured

    The ProQuest SciTech Collection is a database providing access to scientific and technical literature across various disciplines. It offers full-text articles, abstracts, and citations from journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports in fields such as engineering, computer science, physics, and environmental science. 

  • SpringerMaterials
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet
    SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.
  • Web of Science
    • Access restricted to Illinois Tech students, faculty, & staff
    Best Bet Featured

    Web of Science is a multidisciplinary citation indexing database that provides coverage of high-impact scholarly literature across the sciences, technology, engineering, and math. It offers powerful tools for tracking research trends, analyzing citation networks, and evaluating research impact. 

View More Results