Environmental Engineering

BASE is one of the world's most extensive search engines of networked academic resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources, including Illinois Tech's Institutional Repository. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.

More than 200 datasets about Chicago departments, services, facilities and performance.

The Open Access Directory (OAD) maintains a list of open data repositories as part o their website. While not searchable, the list is broken out by subject area.

Data.gov is a searchable database of public datasets maintained by the U.S. General Services Administration. In addition to the searchable web interface, there are also a number of free APIs.

Google Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover freely available datasets hosted in thousands of open access repositories across the Web.

Access Illinois GIS data sets and documentation (metadata) for ArcIMS Interactive Map Services, USGS digital topographic maps, aerial photography, orthoimagery, orthophotography, geology, land use, natural resources, and infrastructure. Illinois data sets and map data layers are available for download free of charge.

The International Nuclear Information System (INIS) hosts one of the world's largest collections of published information on the peaceful uses of nuclear science and technology. The INIS Repository contains bibliographic references and full-text documents of conventional and non-conventional literature, including scientific and technical reports, conference proceedings, patents and theses.

MatWeb is a searchable database of more than 135,000 manufactured materials including physical properties, composition, trade names, manufacturers, and other information.

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

NIST produces the Nation’s Standard Reference Data (SRD). These data are assessed by experts and are trustworthy such that people can use the data with confidence and base significant decisions on the data. NIST provides 49 free SRD databases and 41 fee-based SRD databases. SRD must be compliant with rigorous critical evaluation criteria.

The NSF Public Access Repository (NSF-PAR) provides mechanisms that enable NSF-funded investigators to meet the deposit requirement and to include the relevant information in their project reports

OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. We host repositories that provide free, open access to academic outputs and resources. Each repository record within OpenDOAR has been carefully reviewed and processed by a member of our editorial team which enables us to offer a trusted service for the community.

Free public access to over 200,000 full-text documents and bibliographic citations of Department of Energy (DOE) research report literature.

Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. In addition to the fully functional search and browse features on the website, they offer a free API to facilitate retrieval of data.

Sanborn Maps of Illinois, 1867-1970 provides digital access to large-scale historical maps of Illinois towns and cities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and layer maps from different years.

Science.gov is a gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.

SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data.

TechRxiv (pronounced "tech archive") is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in electrical engineering, computer science, and related technology. It is provided by IEEE.

The USGS works with partners to monitor, assess, conduct targeted research, and deliver information on a wide range of water resources and conditions including streamflow, groundwater, water quality, and water use and availability.

The United Nations iLibrary is a comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations. Initially launched in 2015, the UN iLibrary was updated in December 2020 to incorporate new features such as an interface in all six official UN languages and a search feature by Sustainable Development Goals.

Unpaywall is a free, open database indexing millions of legally free versions of otherwise paywalled scholarly articles. It also has a downloadable browser extension that integrates into the Chrome and Firefox browsers, allowing users to access millions of legally free research papers as they browse.

This database is the official repository for official U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) Engineering Regulations (ERs), Engineering Circulars (ECs), Engineering Manuals (EMs) and other official public documents originating from Headquarters USACE.

The Publications Warehouse provides an index to official, USGS-authored publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. This includes official publications such as USGS-authored journal articles, series reports, book chapters, other government publications, and conference proceedings.

WaterWatch (http://waterwatch.usgs.gov) is a U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) World Wide Web site that displays maps, graphs, and tables describing real-time, recent, and past streamflow conditions for the United States. The real-time information generally is updated on an hourly basis. WaterWatch provides streamgage-based maps that show the location of more than 3,000 long-term (30 years or more) USGS streamgages; use colors to represent streamflow conditions compared to historical streamflow; feature a point-and-click interface allowing users to retrieve graphs of stream stage (water elevation) and flow; and highlight locations where extreme hydrologic events, such as floods and droughts, are occurring.

Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.

Soil surveys can be used for general farm, local, and wider area planning. Onsite investigation is needed in some cases, such as soil quality assessments and certain conservation and engineering applications.

WorldWideScience.org, developed and maintained by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information in partnership with the British Library, is a global science gateway enablling federated searching of national and international scientific databases. Users get the most current findings in fields such as energy, medicine, agriculture, environment, and basic sciences, published by contributing nations. WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Multilingual WorldWideScience.org provides real-time searching and translation of globally-dispersed multilingual scientific literature.