Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Illinois Tech Library Guides
ARTstor offers over 1,000,000 digital images of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, and visual culture.
Select, view, present, download, and manage images for research and teaching purposes.
ARTstor How-To videos,
Rights and Reproductions
Art Resource is a clearing house for the rights of major European and American museums, archives and collections.
Artists Rights Society
Artists Rights Society (ARS) is a clearing house for the rights of the majority of the artists active in the 20th century
Historic American Buildings Survey
Images from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library Congress documenting architecture in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types. Materials include digitized images of measured drawings, black-and-white photographs, color transparencies, photo captions, written history pages, and supplemental materials.
A database providing images from the collections of the British Architectural Library at the Royal Institute of British Architects, the world’s most extensive visual archive devoted to architecture. Low resolution copies may be downloaded free of charge for personal use or teaching purposes. Higher resolution files suitable for most types of publication or prints for private use may be ordered through the site.
VADS (the Visual Arts Data Service) is based at the Farnham Campus of the University College for the Creative Arts, in the UK. It offers a considerable portfolio of visual art collections comprising over 100,000 images that are freely available and copyright cleared for use in learning, teaching and research in the UK.
Victoria & Albert Museum Collections
Search the Collections is a working database providing online access to over 1.1 million catalogue records and over 265,000 images of objects in the Victoria & Albert's collection. Records vary in quality and reliability, and the V&A is continually enriching and updating the database. Searches can be limited to "only those with images".
NYPL Digital Gallery
Database of over 600,000 images from the collections of the New York Public Library.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. Navigation tools and content descriptions are provided in Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. The WDL was developed by a team at the U.S. Library of Congress, with contributions by partner institutions in many countries, with the support of the United Nations Education, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).
Creative Commons Image Search
Searches several sources of Creative Commons media at once, including Flickr, Google, Yahoo, and Wikimedia Commons.
The Bertrand Goldberg Digital Archive at the Ryerson & Burnham
Over 600 digital images of Goldberg's work, including videos, drawings, models, documents and much more.
The Louis Sullivan Digital Archive at the Ryerson & Burnham
Over 1600 images of Sullivan's work, including drawings, photographs and documents.
Compfight offers both commercial and CC images, but it separates the two categories clearly. Additionally, it offers filters to search by license or image type.