This is the "Home" page of the "Teaching Ethics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Teaching Ethics  

A web guide for instructors looking to integrate ethics into their courses.
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/teachingethics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search IIT Libraries

Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.

by
Advanced Search

Recommended Databases

Use these links to other databases to continue your search for articles.

  • Academic Search Premier
    This is an extremely good database for searching for articles on teaching ethics in almost any discipline.
  • Philosopher's Index
    Philosopher's Index covers all major fields of philosophy. This resource contains citation information and author-written abstracts for journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews.

Recommended Journals

  • Science and Engineering Ethics
    This journal features articles looking at ethical issues of direct concern to scientists and engineers. Includes issues involved in professional practice, education, and research. Print edition available at CSEP Library.
  • Teaching Ethics
    This journal is an excellent source for ideas of how to integrate ethics instruction into existing courses, containing many good articles by ethicists and by engineering, science, psychology and other professors discussing their own experiences of teaching ethics.

Web Resources for Instructors

  • Resources for Research Ethics Education
    This is the place to start if you are looking to integrate responsible conduct of research instruction into your course. Includes case studies, sample syllabi, examples of methods for initiating discussion, and many other resources. Developed by the Responsible Conduct of Research Committee of the Association for Practical and Professional Ethics.
  • Center for Ethics in the Professions, University of Puerto Rico
    Materials for instructors developed by the Center for Ethics in the Professions. Includes a guide and case studies on ethical decision making in business, engineering, science and agriculture, and further resources for ethics across the curriculum.
  • Ethics CORE
    This digital library includes a wide variety of full-text publications on science and engineering ethics education, including syllabi, teaching modules, educational videos, presentations, and working papers. The beta version of the repository is searchable by topic, material, research area, and author, and includes an abstract, full-text of the document, and the preferred method of citing the resource. Developed by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
  • Ethics Education Library
    Developed by IIT's Center for the Study of Ethics in the Profession, this is a database of case studies, syllabi, journal articles, books, and other materials on how to integrate ethics into a technical course or workshop.
  • EAC Toolkit
    Developed as part of the NSF Grant, "Collaborative Development of Ethics Across the Curriculum Resources and Sharing of Best Practices" this is a collection of modules to help instructors integrate ethics into engineering classes.
  • Moral Reasoning in Scientific Research
    This is a guide for teaching the responsible conduct of science in university courses. It focuses on how to teach students how to solve ethical questions that arise in research, and includes a number of case studies that can be used to facilitate discussions.
  • Project for Scholarly Integrity - Resources
    This is an extremely well-organized collection of materials on ethics education, including teaching and assessment methods, examples of curricular teaching methods, and potential course readings and case studies, focusing mostly on research ethics.
  • RCR Toolkit by the American Postdoctoral Association
    This is an extremely detailed guide on how to develop a responsible conduct of research program for postdoctoral students. Includes best practices, examples, and advice on developing, marketing and evaluating these kinds of programs or courses.
  • Ethics Across the Curriculum
    A website for faculty looking to integrate ethics into their existing courses. Materials on this site are based on a faculty workshop conducted by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions from 1997-2003.
 

Books, Anthologies and Other Materials

Ethics Across the Curriculm: A Practice-Based Approach - Michael Boylan
Call Number: CSEP.BJ1012.B6172003
ISBN: 0739107690
Boylan and Donahue’s book provides a quick introduction to important issues that concern ethical thought and behavior, and how to develop moral consciousness in students so they are aware of the moral significance of their own actions and the actions of others, and to understand how moral arguments are constructed and justified.

Cover Art
Ethics and the University - Michael Davis
Call Number: CSEP.LB2324.D381999
ISBN: 0415180988
The book offers an explanation of practical ethics' recent emergence as a university subject, discusses research ethics, and explores the teaching of practical ethics. It also includes a description of the Ethics Across the Curriculum workshop held by IIT's Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions from 1997-2003, and includes a very good chapter on how to use case studies to teach ethics in the classroom.

Ethics Teaching in Higher Education - Daniel Callahan and Sissela Bok
Call Number: CSEP.BJ66.E84
ISBN: 0306405229
Representing the findings of a conference held at the Hastings Center in 1980, this anthology includes a number of important essays on the integration of ethics in professional and technical curricula.

Teachable moments : practical suggestions for teaching ethics across the curriculum
Call Number: CSEP.BJ66.T41x1996
This guide, developed in 1996 by Raritan Valley Community College and the New Jersey Center for Advanced Technology Education as part of a National Science Foundation Grant, is a collection of short essays looking at ways to integrate ethics in a wide variety of disciplines.

Cover Art
The Curricular Integration of Ethics: Theory and Practice - C. David Lisman
Call Number: CSEP.BJ66.L571996
ISBN: 0275953041
This book seeks to provide the philosophical and pedagogical background to help faculty and academic administrators gain a better understanding of how to integrate ethics into curricula. The author emphasizes the importance of instructor-guided discussion, and provides examples of ethics cases. The author takes an interdisciplinary approach, and shows how to integrate ethics in discipline-appropriate ways.

 

Train-to-Trainer Workshops

  • Teaching Research Ethics
    Each year Indiana University offers the Teaching Research Ethics Workshop (TRE) to provide training for those involved in teaching research ethics or in administering research programs. The workshop emphasizes a variety of pedagogical approaches to teaching research ethics, through sessions on ethical theory, research ethics, trainee and authorship issues, assessment and evaluation, responsible data management, integrity in research, conflict of interest, and international research.
  • Theory and Skills of Teaching Ethics
    The Mansfield Ethics and Public Affairs Program at the University of Montana offers a summer workshop (June 25-29, 2012) focused on preparing instructors to teach about practical and professional ethics.

Ethics Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Laas
Contact Info
Hermann Hall, Room 205
3241 S. Federal Street
Chicago, IL 60616
312.567.6913
Send Email
 

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip