How to use this guide
This guide will help you get started using IIT's institutional repository, "share.iit."
Comments (0)
FAQ
What is share.iit?
Why use share.iit?
How do I access share.iit?
How do I add items to share.iit?
What can I deposit in share.iit?
- What is share.iit?
-
Share.iit is IIT's institutional repository (IR)—an online server space dedicated to collecting, preserving, and disseminating the full range of the academic and intellectual output of a university in digital form. You may may already be familiar with some other IRs at other universities, such as:
- DSpace@MIT
- Texas Tech University Repository
- IDEALS, the Illinois Digital Environment for Access to Learning and Scholarship at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Why use share.iit?
-
It provides a single place for sharing the results, via open access, of IIT's research and pedagogy.
It provides global awareness of IIT's scholarly output and research initiatives.
It provides long-term preservation (where appropriate) of all types of digital materials created by IIT's faculty and researchers.
It provides for easy and accurate retrieval using advanced tagging and searching features.
(back to top) - How do I access share.iit?
- The URL is http://share.iit.edu. Many items and collections are publicly accessible and searchable. To add items or access certain restricted items you will need to create an account and log in. This is easily done by clicking on the register link at the bottom of the right side of the share.iit homepage. (back to top)
- How do I add items to share.iit?
- After logging in as a registered user, you should see a “Submit a new item to this collection” in every collection you are authorized to submit to. If you do not see this link, contact share@iit.edu or call Charles Uth (7-5319) or John Dorr (7-3615). The submission process is straightforward—just fill in the forms on each page of the submission dialog. You will also be given the opportunity of assigning a Creative Commons license to your submission. For more information on Creative Commons licensing, click here. (back to top)
- What can I deposit in share.iit?
-
Basically, share.iit is for you to use for whatever you want, provided that:
- it was produced, submitted, and/or sponsored by IIT faculty, students, researchers or staff.
- it is in digital form.
- it is scholarly, educational, and/or related to IIT.
- it will be a permanent contribution to the repository.
- it is ready for public dissemination, although you can limit access to or temporarily embargo your submissions if necessary. Privileges can be as restrictive as designated individuals or as broad as world-wide unrestricted viewing. You (or the author/copyright owner) are willing and able to grant IIT the right to preserve and distribute the work via share.iit. The author/copyright holder retains copyright for all items submitted.
- course materials, such as homework, solution sets, notes, video lectures, syllabi, etc
- experimental or observational datasets
- conference and symposia presentations and papers
- lab notes and videos
- article pre-prints and post-prints
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Subject Guide |
Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
