This is the "General Resources" page of the "Ethics & Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Ethics & Psychology  

Ethical Issues in clinical practice and research.
Last Updated: Mar 21, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/psychologyethics Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

General Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

More Psychology Guides

For more psychology guides see...

  • Psychology
    Use this guide to find resources in industrial/organizational psychology, rehabilitation psychology, and clinical psychology as well as course-specific information.
 

Search the IIT Library Catalog

Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

Suggestions?

Come across any other resources? Please feel free to suggest other helpful web sites, articles or books to add to this guide.

Ethics Centers

  • American Psychological Association Ethics Office
    An extremely well organized web site that includes major ethical guidelines on professional practice and research in the field of psychology.
  • Ethics in Mental Health Research
    Developed and maintained by the Department of Health Care Ethics at Saint Louis University and the Missouri Institute of Mental health, this web site includes a large number of guidelines, case studies, and other materials on ethical issues that arise in mental health research.
  • U.S. Office of Research Integrity,
    Department of Health and Human Services. Site includes educational resources on responsible conduct of research, U.S. legislation, guidelines governing federally funded research, and reports and news summaries of national and international misconduct.

Recommended Databases

  • Philosopher's Index
    Covering all fields of philosophy and practical ethics, search here for articles on the responsible conduct of research, bioethics, and teaching ethics. Articles tend to approach subject from a less discipline-specific perspective.
  • PsycINFO  
    Rating
    This is the definitive psychology database. It covers all research fields in psychology. Types of results include peer-reviewed journals, empirical studies, literature reviews, dissertation abstracts, and more.
  • PubMed  
      
      
    Rating
    PubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Useful for clinical trials and other medical studies that may fall outside of PsycINFO's coverage.
  • PsycEXTRA  
    Rating
    Content in PsycEXTRA has been written for professionals and disseminated outside of peer-reviewed journals. Includes newsletters, magazines, newspapers, technical and annual reports, government reports, and consumer brochures.
 

Search six psychology databases at once!

Did you know you can search multiple psychology databases simultaneously? Read on...

Use this box to do a simple search in all of the following databases: PsycINFO, PsycEXTRA, Business Source Premier, Health and Psychosocial Instruments, Tests in Print and the Mental Measurements Yearbook.

 

 

Want to do a more advanced search? Click here to go to the advanced search page.

Codes of Ethics

See more mental health codes of ethics in the Ethics Center Library's Codes of Ethics Collection.

 

Books and Anthologies

Cover Art
Ethics in Psychology: Professional Standards and Cases - Koocher, Gerald P.
Call Number: CSEP.BF76.4.K461998
ISBN: 0195092015
This is a classic textbook in psychology ethics that gives a good introduction to major moral issues that often come up in research and practice, and includes a number of illustrative case studies.

Ethical Conflicts in Psychology

Cover Art
Ethical Conflicts in Psychology - Bersoff, Donald N.
Call Number: BF76.4.E8142003
ISBN: 1591470501
Describes the fundamental ethical issues embedded within a psychologist's medley of roles. Provides updates on such complex issues as multiple relationships, privacy and privilege, and deception in research. Also includes the APA's new 2002 Ethical Principles of Psychologists and Code of Conduct.

Cover Art
Ethics and Values in Industrial-Organizational Psychology - Lefkowitz, Joel
Call Number: CSEP.HF5548.8.L36442003
ISBN: 0805833536
Integrating work from the fields of moral philosophy, moral psychology, organizational psychology, and political and social economy, as well as business, Lefkowitz (Baruch College, City University of New York) provides a framework for moral action and a practical model for ethical decision making. The book can serve as a text for advanced undergraduate and graduate/doctoral courses in business ethics, organizational psychology, and human resources

Cover Art
Ethics in Psychotherapy and Counseling: A Practical Guide - Kenneth S. Pope, Melba J.T. Vasquez
Call Number: BF637.C6P591998
ISBN: 0787943061
This book takes a practical view of ethics and gives guidance and decision-making strategies on many of the ethical issues faced by clinical psychologists.

Cover Art
Practical Ethics for Psychologists: A Positive Approach - Knapp, Samuel
Call Number: BF76.4.K642006
ISBN: 1591473268
Using the 2002 APA Code of Ethics as a guide, the authors of this book lay out a five-step model for resolving ethical dilemmas, illustrating the discussion with thumbnail sketches of both ethical and questionable behaviors.

Cover Art
The Ethical Practice of Psychology in Organizations - Lowman, Rodney L.
Call Number: HF5548.8.E791998
ISBN: 1557984867
Includes guidance based on the American Psychological Association's Ethical Guidelines for Psychologists and accompanying case studies.

 

Ethics Librarian

Profile Image
Kelly Laas
Contact Info
Hermann Hall, Room 205
3241 S. Federal Street
Chicago, IL 60616
312.567.6913
Send Email

Journals

  • Ethics & Behavior
    A multidisciplinary journal looking at the ethical and moral behavior of humans, and the ethics surrounding the use of human and animal subjects in research.

Articles on Dual Relationships

A series of articles from the American Psychological Association's Monitor on Psychology 

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip