PS 230 WindowPS 303 WindowPS 314 WindowPS 351 WindowPS 353 WindowPS 360 Window
This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Political Science  

Last Updated: Jan 17, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/politicalscience Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to Use this Guide

So you're looking for information about political science?  You've come to the right place.  This guide will help you navigate the frequently confusing yet highly rewarding world of research.  It is separated into several categories:

  • Books: Use this tab to learn how to find books and start searching for books in our catalogs.

  • Articles and Databases: Go here to see which databases are best for political science, search for a specific journal or for a specific article.

  • Database Search Tips: This tab provides information on how to search EBSCO databses (such as Academic Search Premier) and JSTOR.

  • Building Better Searches: Use the general search tips on this tab to enhance your searches.

  • Encyclopedias: Check here for encyclopedias in political science.

  • Websites: This tab contains websites selected by the library experts. 

  • Current Events: Use this tab to find newspapers, video feeds, blogs and think tanks.

  • International Politics: This section has links to databases thate are good for searching for international relations and international organizations' links.

  • Government Documents: Use this tab to explore the millions of government documents available to you.

  • Courses: This tab contains links to current and older courses that had library instruction, as well as methods to request a session for your class.

If you have any questions or would like to make an appointment to meet with a librarian about your specific topic, email reference@iit.edu or complete this appointment request form.

Create Your Library Accounts

We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.

 

Read These Tips Before You Start

Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty.  Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.

1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database.  Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials.  When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user.  When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.

2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before.  Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before. 

3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches.  Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database.  Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.

3. There is no one perfect search.  Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.

4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog.  Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later.  The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time. 

5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want?  We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles.  These are fast and free services.  Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.

6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link.  We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem.  See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.

Get help

Profile Image
Research Help Office on the upper level of Galvin Library

Contact Info
35 W 33rd St
Chicago, IL 60616
(312) 567-3616
Send Email
 

Library News

Check out the latest Galvin Library news from our blog.

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Receive Galvin Library Announcements

We send automated mailings 1-2 times per month to our subscription list.

Get the latest news on new library resources, workshops and services from automated mailings. Sign up here.

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip