This is the "Home" page of the "Math and Science Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Math and Science Education   Tags: education, msed  

Use this guide to find library resources for Math and Science Education.
Last Updated: Dec 20, 2011 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/msed Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Read These Tips Before You Start

Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty.  Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.

1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database.  Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials.  When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user.  When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.

2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before.  Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before. 

3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches.  Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database.  Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.

3. There is no one perfect search.  Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.

4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog.  Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later.  The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time. 

5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want?  We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles.  These are fast and free services.  Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.

6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link.  We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem.  See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.

Databases

All of our databases can be accessed from off campus if you are an current IIT student, staff or faculty member. Before entering the database, you will be asked to provide your IIT ID number.

  • ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)  
      
    ERIC is the authoritative education database. It includes journal and non-journal literature dating back to 1966, with many results in full text. Important: the library's version of ERIC has more full-text than the eric.ed.gov website, so always access ERIC through this link.
  • Professional Development Collection  
      
    This database designed for professional educators, and includes over 500 high quality education journals and 350 peer reviewed journals. The Professional Development Collection is one of the most comprehensive collections of full text education journals available.
  • Teacher Reference Center  
      
    Provides indexing and abstracts for more than 270 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines. Use the red Get Article button to find the full text and request articles.
  • Academic Search Premier  
      
    Considered the world's largest multi-discipline full-text database of scholarly knowledge, this database is a good place to find current news and literature about education, political issues surrounding education, and international education news.
  • List of all IIT library databases
    Our databases page will show you all the databases we subscribe to.

Get help

Profile Image
Research Help Office on the upper level of Galvin Library

Contact Info
35 W 33rd St
Chicago, IL 60616
(312) 567-3616
Send Email

Create Your Library Accounts

We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip