Academic Search Premier
Start your search for articles with this database.
- Academic Search PremierThis database is a good place to start searching for information on almost any topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.
Example searches in Academic Search Premier
- FeminismThe search string is:
ZE "FEMINISM"
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Access to education for womenThe search string is:
ZE "WOMEN -- Education" & ZE "Equality"
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Women's rights and AfricaThe search string is:
ZE "WOMEN'S rights"+ AFRICA
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Pay gapThe search string is:
ZE "PAY equity"
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Third wave feminismThe search string is:
DE "THIRD-wave feminism"
DE=Descriptor
Other Recommended Databases
Use these links to other databases to continue your search for articles.
- JSTORAn excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Biology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, and Psychology.
- Project MuseThis database offers a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Every journal is indexed and peer-reviewed.
- LexisNexis Academic UniverseFull-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, and reference publications. Great for current news articles. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information.
- Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, and NPR.
Browse Recommended Journals
- JSTORBrowse the 29 Feminist & Women Studies titles in JSTOR, an archive of important scholarly journals.
- Project MuseBrowse all women studies titles in Project Muse, a group of the prestigious journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- All History TitlesBrowse all the titles in human rights and women's studies at IIT.
How-to Guides for Databases
These guides will help you better use our databases and find articles.
- Finding Journal ArticlesHow to select and search databases.
- Finding Scholarly ArticlesWhere to find scholarly articles.
- Using Get ArticleHow to use our full text article retriever.
- Finding articles from a citationA short video on how to use the Article Finder service.
- Access databases from off-campusHow to access our databases using the MyIIT portal.
Optimize Google Scholar
Why?
When Google Scholar knows you're an IIT student, it can link you directly to any articles you search for that IIT has available in full-text. This allows you to take advantage of Google's great indexing capabilities linked to the more than 35,000 full-text journals that IIT has access to.
How?
From your favorite browser, go to Google Scholar preferences page. Add "Illinois Institute of Technology" to the library links section. This will allow Google Scholar to access IIT's databases to locate your article in full-text.

Search Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.
Search the I-Share Catalog
Use this search box to find books in the I-Share Catalog.
Search the IIT Library Catalog
Use this search box to find books in the IIT Libraries.
Find a specific article
Need to find a specific article quickly? The Articles by Citation form below will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article. Watch this video to learn how to find articles when you have a citation.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Questions?
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616
email: reference@iit.edu
Or see our Ask a Librarian Page.
Class Evaluation
Please complete the evaluation form for the class you attended.
Create Your Library Accounts
We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.
- Article RequestMyILL is the library's interlibrary loan system. Use this when the library does not have the articles you need. Articles typically arrive 3-7 business days later, sometimes faster.
- How-to Guide for Creating Your MyILL Account
- Book RequestCreate an account to request books from the 76 other universities we share with in the I-Share catalog. Your barcode is your IIT ID number (A200...).
- How-to Guide for Creating Your I-Share Account
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process. Here are some recommended tools:
- Most recommended: Zotero (for Firefox only)Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, export citations. Very simple to use. (Firefox only).
- EndNote Web Web-based version of the popular software. Manage citations & references, create bibliographies online


Loading...
