LibGuides: Government Documents: Online Map Resources

Environment

Enviromapper
Environmental hazard mapping application from the Environmental Protection Agency
WaterWatch
Map of real-time streamflow compared to historical streamflow for the day of the year
Web Soil Survey
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey.
more...less...
Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties and anticipates having 100 percent in the near future. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.

Thematic

Library of Congress Online Collection
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form.
more...less...
The Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress holds more than 4.5 million items, of which Map Collections represents only a small fraction, those that have been converted to digital form.

The focus of Map Collections is Americana and Cartographic Treasures of the Library of Congress. These images were created from maps and atlases and, in general, are restricted to items that are not covered by copyright protection.

Map Collections is organized according to seven major categories. Because a map will be assigned to only one category, unless it is part of more than one core collection, searching Map Collections at this level will provide the most complete results since the indexes for all categories are searched simultaneously.
National Atlas Map Maker
Maps of America are what you'll find and make on nationalatlas.gov
more...less...
Maps of America are what you'll find and make on nationalatlas.gov™. Maps of innovation and vision that illustrate our changing Nation. Maps that capture and depict the patterns, conditions, and trends of American life. Maps that supplement interesting articles. Maps that tell their own stories. Maps that cover all of the United States or just your area of interest. Maps that are accurate and reliable from more than 20 Federal organizations. Maps about America's people, heritage, and resources. Maps that will help you, your children, your colleagues, and your friends understand the United States and its place in the world.

Recreation

National Park Service
The maps on this site are digital versions of those maps found in the official brochures provided to National Park visitors.
more...less...
Welcome to the National Park Service Maps website. The maps on this site are digital versions of those maps found in the official brochures provided to National Park visitors. They are a product of National Park Service cartographers at Harpers Ferry Center.

Here you will find maps and data in three formats:

* Adobe Acrobat PDF (for general browser viewing and printing)
* Adobe Illustrator (the same maps as the PDFs, but intended for professional print production and not viewable in browsers)
* JPEG shaded relief (large high-resolution topography for professional print production)

The maps at this site are in the public domain. You may use National Park Service maps provided that you agree to assume complete legal responsibility for problems resulting from their use. Although National Park Service maps are easy to modify, understand that modifications can adversely alter the meaning and accuracy of the original data. Law prohibits you from using the National Park Service seal or claiming National Park Service endorsement with downloaded maps.

Topographic

National Map Viewer
The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. As one of the cornerstones of the U.S. Geological Survey's (USGS) National Geospatial Program, The National Map is a collaborative effort among the USGS and other Federal, State, and local partners to improve and deliver topographic information for the Nation. It has many uses ranging from recreation to scientific analysis to emergency response. The National Map is easily accessible for display on the Web, as products and services, and as downloadable data. The geographic information available from The National Map includes orthoimagery (aerial photographs), elevation, geographic names, hydrography, boundaries, transportation, structures, and land cover. Other types of geographic information can be added within the viewer or brought in with The National Map data into a Geographic Information System to create specific types of maps or map views. The National Map is a significant contribution to the National Spatial Data Infrastructure (NSDI) and currently is being transformed to better serve the geospatial community by providing high quality, integrated geospatial data and improved products and services including new generation digital topographic maps.

USGS Map Locator
The USGS Map Locator allows for the download of 7.5 minute U.S. Topographic Maps in a zipped PDF format. It also is handy for use as an index of the maps, so that the ones held in a physical format by the library can be retrieved.

Subject Guide

Aric Ahrens

he/his

Email Me

Contact:

312-567-3614

Subjects: Advanced Manufacturing, Aerospace Engineering, Autonomous Systems and Robotics, Engineering, Government Documents, Health Physics, Manufacturing Engineering, Materials Science & Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanical, Materials, & Aerospace Engineering, Public Administration