Summary
1. There are many locations. Ask the reference desk to help you find your book.
2. Items are kept in different locations based on the type of material and the usage rules.
3. See tab 4 to learn more about the call number systems the library uses to organize the collection.
Common locations where you may find your book.
There are many locations where your item may be stored, but here are some of the most common locations.
Books you obtain on your own:
Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level: Books with this location will be found on the upper level of Galvin Library. They start directly south of the main stairwell and curve around to the south-west corner of the building.
- Call numbers with letters at the beginning (A-Z) are shelved in order with the "A" books beginning in the first row of Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level.
- Call numbers that do not have letters at the beginning (001-999) begin after the Z's. They are in order, and begin on the shelves across from the Administrative Suite.
- Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level books can be checked out and taken out of the building.
Galvin Electronic Resource: Books with this location are e-books, meaning they are online. Click on the link next to the big "e" in the record of the item to be taken to the book.
Galvin Leisure Reading Collection - (IIT Borrowing Only): Lesiure Reading books, newspapers, and magazines are shelved next to the couches in the northeast corner of the upper level. Only IIT students, staff and faculty are allowed to check these books out. Leisure books have a 3 week borrowing period. Magazines and newspapers can only be used inside the building.
Galvin Reference (Non Circulating): Galvin Reference books are usually dictionaries, encyclopedias, and multi-volume sets of standards. These books can be found on the shelves next to the computers on the upper level. They cannot be checked out.
Galvin Library Periodicals (Shelved Alphabetically by Title): Journals whose titles begin with letters A-L are found on the lower level. A's begin on the first row after the Group Study Suite and continue into the room past the vending machines. M-Z titles are upstairs in the blue shelves between the CMC and the northwest corner of the building. Please note that the majority of our journal subscriptions are in electronic format and the can be accessed by title using the Journals List.
Gov Docs Microfiche (Galvin) (Non Circulating), Government Documents (Galvin Non Circulating): Items with the word government documents in the location could be in a variety of places, including the internet. Please ask the reference desk for assistance with government documents.
Books you go to the circulation desk to obtain:
Galvin Reserves (Library Use Only - inquire at Circulation): Books with this location are kept behind the circulation desk. This is where you will find any textbooks the library owns.
- Bring the call number to the circulation desk, and they will obtain the book for you.
- Reserves books cannot leave the building, but may be used inside for a 2 hour period.
Galvin Reserves Closed Stacks (inquire at Circulation): Books with this location follw the same rules as Galvin Reserves. Bring the call number to the circulation desk to obtain the book for library use only.
Books you go to the reference desk to obtain:
Galvin Closed Stacks (CSX) (Non Circulating): Closed Stacks books are rare, old, or fragile books that are kept in a secure location. Ask the reference desk to get the book for you. You may use the book inside the library only. An ID is required to use these books.
Theses (IIT Archives) (Non Circulating): Dissertations and theses written by IIT students are kept in the Archives on the lower level. Bring the call number of the thesis or dissertation to the reference desk and a staff member will get the book. Dissertations and thesis must stay in the library, and an ID is required to use the books.
Books that are kept at other IIT libraries:
DTC Stacks (Circulating) - Downtown Campus: Books with the DTC Stacks location will be found in the DTC library.
Biegler Circulating Collection (Rice Campus): Books with the word Biegler in the location will be found on the Rice Campus inside the Biegler Library.
Graham Resource Center (Local Circulating): Graham Resource Center books are located on the lower level of Crown Hall.
Ethics Center Library (Local Circulating): Ethics Center Library books are located on the mezzanine level of Hermann Hall.
NCFST Library-Moffett Campus (On Campus Circulation Only): NCFST books are kept in the library at the National Center for Food Safety and Technology. Only NCFST students, staff and faculty are allowed to access these books.
Questions?
Get help from the Reference Desk:
phone: (312) 567-3616
email: reference@iit.edu
Ask us with IM:
Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).
---
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait