Search the IIT Library Catalog
Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.
In The Lab
- In the Lab: An Interactive FilmThis video simulation, developed by the U.S. Office of Research Integrity, allows users to assume the role of a graduate student, post-doc, research administrator, or PI and make decisions that affect the integrity of research.
U.S. Office of Research Integrity Twitter Feed
Loading...
Suggestions?
Come across any other resources? Please feel free to suggest other helpful web sites, articles or books to add to this guide.
Feedback
Ethics Centers Focusing on Scientific Research Ethics
- U.S. Office of Research Integrity,Department of Health and Human Services. Site includes educational resources on responsible conduct of research, U.S. legislation, guidelines governing federally funded research, and reports and news summaries of national and international misconduct.
- Online Ethics Centermaintained by the National Academy of Engineering, the Center includes a library of cases, online modules, and quality introductory articles on ethics in engineering and the sciences.
- OpenSeminar for Research EthicsDeveloped by North Carolina State University, this web tutorial is designed so instructors from different institutions can create their own online course. Entirely open to the public, students may find many of these modules helpful in beginning research.
- Kennedy Institute of EthicsThe Kennedy Institute of Ethics is one of the premier bioethics centers in the U.S. Located at Georgetown University.
- National Reference Center for Bioethics LiteraturePart of the Kennedy Center for ethics, this is a database of bioethics literature fully searchable by keyword and topic area. A very good source for doing in-depth searching on bioethics topics.
- Ethics COREThis digital library includes a wide variety of cases, articles, and other good resources on all aspects of scientific research ethics. Developed by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.
Recommended Databases
- Academic Search PremierA good general database for all areas of science research ethics.
- Ethics Education LibraryA collection of journal articles, case studies, tutorials, and other resources on scientific research ethics.
- EthicsCOREA huge web resource on all facets of science and engineering ethics. Use this site to locate materials on all aspects of scientific research ethics.
- Philosopher's IndexCovering all fields of philosophy and practical ethics, search here for articles on the responsible conduct of research, bioethics, and teaching ethics. Articles tend to approach subject from a less discipline-specific perspective.
- PubMedPubMed is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. A good resource for searching for discipline-specific ethics articles.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides access to to approximately 8,700 of the most prestigious research journals in the world. Enter your search terms, and limit your search to "ethics" or "philosophy" in the left side-bar to refine the results of your search.
Science Codes of Ethics
See more science codes in our Codes of Ethics Collection.
- American Chemical SocietyChemists' Code of Ethics
- American Institute of ChemistsCode of Ethics
- American Medical AssociationCode of Medical Ethics
- American Physical SocietyGuidelines for Professional Conduct
- American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular BiologyCode of Ethics
- The Roles of Codes of Conduct in Preventing the Misuse of ScienceThis paper outlines the Royal Society's position on the roles of codes of conduct in preventing the misuse of scientific research, building on the Society's previous publications on the subject. This paper also discusses methods that complement codes of conduct in preventing the misuse of science, including training and the extension of existing regulations. Other aspects of scientific conduct, such as scientific fraud and the public responsibilities of scientists, are not addressed in this pape
Books and Anthologies
Library How-To Guides
New to the library? Need to sharpen your research skills? These informative guides will teach you how to use the resources at IIT Libraries and beyond.
- See what's available at Galvin for IIT students, faculty, and staff. (Video)
- Helpful information for international students.
How do I . . .
- find information on a topic? (engineering, business, chemistry, etc.)
- find and request books . . .
- in the IIT Library Catalog? PDF | Video
- in the IIT Library Catalog (Classic Version)? PDF | Video
- on the shelves at the library?
- in I-Share? PDF | Video
- in WorldCat? (PDF)
- find textbooks on reserve? (Video)
- find scholarly journal articles? (PDF)
- find articles when I already have a citation? PDF | Video
- use databases? (PDF)
- from off campus? (PDF)
- use isit@iit/SFX? (PDF)

- use My Account in the IIT/I-Share catalog? (PDF)
- create and use a MyILL account? PDF | Video
- evaluate Internet resources? (PDF)
- cite sources and prepare a bibliography?
To view the PDF guides, you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.
To view the Video guides, you will need Adobe Flash Player.
Bibliography of Books and Journal Articles
Anderson, Melissa S., Emily A. Ronning, Raymond De Vries, Brian C. Martinson. "The Perverse Effects of Competition on Scientists' Work and Relationships" Science and Engineering Ethics. 13:4 (2007) 337-361.
This article reports on a series of focus groups held with 51 mid-career scientists which asked the participants to reflect on the effect competition has on their work and their relationships. The scientists saw this kind of competition contributing to a decline in the sharing of information and methods, and a rise in careless or questionable research conduct.Bulger, Ruth Ellen, Elizabeth Heitman, and Stanley Joel Reiser. The Ethical Dimensions of Biological Sciences. New York: Cambridge University Press, 2002. CSEP Library, CSEP.QH332.E731993.An anthology of essays for graduate students and practicing researchers in the biological sciences covering ethics and authorship, plagiarism, human and animal research subjects, standards of ethical conduct in research, and the scientists’ responsibility to society.Barnbaum, Deborah R and Michael Byron. Research ethics: text and readings. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, 2001. CSEP Library CSEP.Q180.55.M67B372001.
Drenth, Pieter J.D. "Responsible Conduct in Research." Science and Engineering Ethics. Jan. 2006 Vol. 12, No. 1. 13-21. (Available through Galvin Library Journal Holdings)
Elliot, Deni and Judy E. Stern. Research ethics: a reader. Hanover, NH : University Press of New England for the Institute for the Study of Applied and Professional Ethics at Dartmouth College, 1997. CSEP Library CSEP.Q180.55.M67R441997
Erwin, Edward. Sidney Gendin and Lowell Kleiman. Ethical issues in scientific research: an anthology.Garland Studies in Applied Ethics, Vol. 2. New York : Garland, 1994. CSEP Library CSEP.Q180.55.M67E831994"The Ethics of Scientific Research" Perspectives on the Professions Vol. 8, No. 2, January 1989. CSEP Library
Friedman, Paul J. “An Introduction to Research Ethics,” Science and Engineering Ethics 2.2 (October 1996) 443-456. (Available through Galvin Library Journal Holdings)
Hook, Sidney, Paul Kurtz and Miro Todorovich. ed. The Ethics of Teaching and Scientific Research. Buffalo, NY : Prometheus Books, 1977. (full text available at Questia Online Library)
Murphy, Timothy F. Case Studies in Biomedical Research Ethics. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, 2004. CSEP Library CSEP.R724.M8762004
Reagan, C.E. Ethics for Scientific Researchers, 2nd Ed. Springfield, Ill.: Thomas, 1971 CSEP Library CSEP.BJ57.R41971
Resnick, David. The Ethics of Science: an introduction. New York: Routledge, 1998 CSEP Library CSEP.Q175.35.R461998
Rothblat, Joseph. "The Social Conscience of Scientists" Physics World. December 1999 pp. 65-68.
Seebaur, Edmund and Robert L. Barry. Fundamentals of Ethics for Scientists and Engineers. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. CSEP Library CSEP.Q175.35.S442001
Steneck, Nicholas H. ORI Introduction to the Responsible Conduct of Research. Rev. ed June 2004. Rockville , MD. : U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Research Integrity.
Weinstein, Deena. “Scientific Fraud and Scientific Ethics.” CSEP Occasional Papers 4 (June 1981). CSEP Library CSEP,Q175.37.W45x1981
This paper examines the ethics of scientific research and analyzes the various factors, both inside and outside of science, that limit its effectiveness to control misconduct in science.
Ethics Librarian |
Subjects: Practical and professional ethics |
Articles & More...
Interested in more information? Visit the following bibliographies of books, web sites and articles developed by the Center for the Study of Ethics in the Professions.
- Animal Research SubjectsUse of animals in research.
- AuthorshipAuthorship, peer review, plagiarism.
- Collaborative ResearchEthical issues in collaborative research and University/Industry research partnerships.
- Communicating Science to the PublicPublic engagement and understanding of science.
- Conflict of InterestConflict of interest in science.
- Data ManagementOnline tutorials, guidelines and articles on data management, record keeping and statistics in scientific and engineering research.
- DiversityWomen and minorities in science and science education.
- Human Research ParticipantsHuman research participants and informed consent.
- MentoringA collection of guides, case studies and journal articles discussing ethical issues in mentoring and advisor/advisee relationships.

Submit




Loading...
