This is the "HUM106 - Life Stories" page of the "HUM106 - Life Stories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

HUM106 - Life Stories  

Last Updated: Jul 17, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/HUM106 Print Guide RSS Updates
HUM106 - Life Stories Print Page
  Search: 
 

Step 1: Search words

Use this online tool (Used by permission of the University of Texas Libraries, The University of Texas at Austin) to translate your research topic into keyword terms you can use to search library databases and Google Scholar for scholarly sources.

Step 2: Academic Search Premier

Start your search for articles with this database using the search words you created in Step 1.

  • Academic Search Premier
    This database is a good place to start searching for information on almost any topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.

Step 2.1: Searching for celebrities in Academic Search Premier

Using the library database Academic Search Premier to search for celebrities by name is a useful way to get a sense of how those celebrities are discussed in scholarly sources and popular media sources. 

Step 3: JSTOR

Use the search words you created in Step 1 to find full-text articles from scholarly journals. 

  • JSTOR
    An excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Biology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, and Psychology.

Step 4: Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more.  You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.



 

Optimize Google Scholar

Why?

When Google Scholar knows you're an IIT student, it can link you directly to any articles you search for that IIT has available in full-text. This allows you to take advantage of Google's great indexing capabilities linked to the more than 35,000 full-text journals that IIT has access to. 

How?

From your favorite browser, go to Google Scholar preferences page. Add "Illinois Institute of Technology" to the library links section. This will allow Google Scholar to access IIT's databases to locate your article in full-text. 

 

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process.  Here are some recommended tools:

  • Most recommended: Zotero
    Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, export citations. Very simple to use.
  • EndNote Web  
      
    Web-based version of the popular software. Manage citations & references, create bibliographies online

How-to Guides for Databases

These guides will help you better use our databases and find articles.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Nichole Novak
Contact Info
Illinois Institute of Technology
Paul V. Galvin Library
35 W. 33rd St.
Chicago, IL 60616

312-567-3613
Send Email
 

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office:

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: rho@iit.edu

Or see our Ask a Librarian Page.

Create Your Library Accounts

We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.

Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip