Find Dissertations and Theses
Reading other dissertations and theses can provide guidance for you. There are three ways to find them.
- Dissertations and Theses This database provides abstracts, previews, and full text dissertations from over 700 universities. Older dissertations will be abstracts online. Most dissertations from 1997 to the present can be fully downloaded as a PDF. Theses will only have abstracts and no full text.
- Dissertations and Theses at IIT The same database as above, but limited to only dissertations and theses from IIT.
- IIT dissertations and theses in print Search the IIT Catalog for print copies of IIT dissertations and theses. The archives maintains one copy of IIT dissertations and theses. These must stay inside the library. Request them at the reference desk on the upper level.
Thesis and Dissertation Manuals
Writing and publishing your thesis, dissertation, and research: a guide for students in the helping professions - P. Paul Heppner, Mary J. Heppner.
Call Number: LB2369.H462004 - Galvin Upper Level Circulating
ISBN/ISSN: 0534559743
This book is geared towards psychology and social science PhD students.
Writing the winning thesis or dissertation: a step-by-step guide - Allan A. Glatthorn, Randy L. Joyner.
Call Number: REF.LB2369.G562005
ISBN/ISSN: 0761939601
Authoring a PhD : how to plan, draft, write, and finish a doctoral thesis or dissertation - Patrick Dunleavy
Call Number: LB2369.D852003 - Upper Level Circulating
ISBN/ISSN: 1403911916
Dissertations and theses from start to finish: psychology and related fields - John D. Cone and Sharon L. Foster.
Call Number: BF76.5.C6452006 - Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level
ISBN/ISSN: 1591473624
Guide to the successful thesis and dissertation: a handbook for students and faculty - James E. Mauch, Namgi Park
Call Number: REF.LB2369.M3772003
ISBN/ISSN: 0824742885
How to write psychology papers - Les Parrott III
Call Number: BF76.5.P271999 - Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level
ISBN/ISSN: 0321044665
Citation Management Tools
You'll be compiling dozens of articles. Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process. Here are some recommended tools:
- Most recommended: Zotero (for Firefox only) Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, export citations. Very simple to use. (Firefox only).
- EndNote Web
Web-based version of the popular software. Manage citations & references, create bibliographies online - Bibus Downloadable software used to save, search, edit, and sort bibliographic records; export to MS Word or OpenOffice.
- BiblioExpress Save and manage citation information, create bibliographies. Must be downloaded and installed on your computer.
- CiteULike Manage citations & references, create bibliographies online.
- Connotea Manage citation information online, share references.
- WIKINDX Multi-user online platform -- manage citations, search bibliographies, export references to a number of formats.
Research Handbooks
The psychology research handbook: a guide for graduate students and research assistants - Frederick T.L. Leong and James T. Austin.
Call Number: REF.BF76.5.P7952006
ISBN/ISSN: 0761930213
Displaying your findings: a practical guide for creating figures, posters, and presentations - Adelheid A.M. Nicol and Penny M. Pexman
Call Number: REF.BF76.8.N532003
ISBN/ISSN: 1557989788
Handbook of multimethod measurement in psychology - Michael Eid and Ed Diener, editors
Call Number: BF39.H26442006 - Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level
ISBN/ISSN: 1591473187
Why science matters: understanding the methods of psychological research - Robert W. Proctor and E.J. Capaldi
Call Number: BF76.5.P682006 - Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper Level
ISBN/ISSN: 1405133570
Methods for behavioral research: a systematic approach - Paul D. Cherulnik
Call Number: BF76.5.C4652001 - Galvin Circulating Collection - Upper level
ISBN/ISSN: 0761921990
Questions?
Contact the Galvin Psychology Librarian:
Jannelle Ruswick
ruswick@iit.edu
(312) 567-3613
Use Instant Message! You can ask Galvin staff basic research questions from home or work.
Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).
---
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait