This is the "COM 101/111" page of the "COM 101/111- Writing in the University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

COM 101/111- Writing in the University   Tags: courses, databases, general, international_students  

Writing in the University
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/com111 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

COM 101/111 Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Assignment Requirements

You must use at least outside 6 sources, and only half of them may be online or Internet-based sources (this excludes journal articles).  You must also have a “Works Cited” page, and the entire paper must be adequately and appropriately documented in the MLA style.

Find Journal Articles

Before starting to do your research, you need to know what types of resources can be good research resources. These guides will help you to understand what types of resources you can use for you research and where to find them.

Recommended Database

  • Academic Search Premier
    The largest database at IIT, Academic Search Premier is a great place to start searching information on your topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.
  • Keywords Worksheets
    Key words are words or phrases that explain your topic. All searches start with at least one key word, whether it's a simple or complex search. Use this worksheets to help create a list of keywords for your search.
 

Find Books

There are a few places to search for books:

1. Start here:

Find books, e-books, DVDs, government documents, print journals and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries:

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

 

2. Didn't find what you wanted? Need more books? 

You can find and request books from 76 other universities in Illinois using the I-Share Catalog.  Books arrive in about 3 business days, and you will be notified via email when they arrive.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

Create Your Library Accounts

Your student ID card is also your Library card. To start using the Library you need to set up two accounts: My I-share/IIT Account and MyILL Account.

Tips for Evaluating Websites

Not all websites were created equal.  When determining how or if you should use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAP test.  Does the site pass the test, or is it a bunch of...?

  • Currency
    • How recent is the information?
    • How recently has the website been updated?
    • Is it current enough for your topic?
  • Reliability
    • What kind of information is included in the resource?
    • Is the content of the resource primarily opinion?  Is it balanced?
    • Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
  • Authority
    • Who is the creator or author?
    • What are the credentials?
    • Who is the published or sponsor?
    • Are they reputable?
    • What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
    • Are there advertisements on the website?
  • Purpose/Point of View
    • Is this fact or opinion?
    • Is it biased?
    • Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?

(originally from the LOEX 2008 wiki)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Yi Han
Contact Info
Email: yhan27@iit.edu
Paul V. Galvin Library
35 West 33rd Street
Chicago, IL 60616

312.567.5991
Send Email

Tips & Tutorials

 

MLA Style Works Cited

The MLA Style (Modern Language Association) is the most common form used for citing sources in the liberal arts and humanities. Galvin Library has a print copy of MLA Handbook for Research Paper Writers, REF.LB2369.G532009. Use the following handouts to learn MLA Works Cited for books and articles. Go to Purdue's Online Writing Lab to view more expamples. 

To learn how to use Zotero and EndNoteWeb to create your citation, view the Citation Management guide.

IIT Resources

  • Plagiarism and Avoiding It
    This page, developed by the Communication Across the Curriculum Initiative at IIT, gives a concise description of what plagiarism is, how to avoid it, and provides links to other resources about the writing process.
  • Writing Center
    The Writing Center is a resource for all IIT students for help. You can either make an appointment with them, or they also help students on a walk-in basis.
 

Questions?

Contact Galvin Library:

Research Help Office (for help with research):
reference@iit.edu
(312) 567-3616

Circulation Desk (for help with your library accounts):
circdesk@iit.edu
(312) 567-6847

 

---

Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip