WelcomeHistory / DefinitionsLibrary resourcesCampus ResourcesEthical IssuesLegal IssuesFinal Thoughts
This is the "GLBT - Resources & History" page of the "Diversity & Inclusion" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Diversity & Inclusion  

Welcome to IIT’s Diversity and Inclusion Library Guide. This guide is intended to help you find relevant resources on American diversity on and off campus. To learn more about these areas, simply click on a subject tab.
Last Updated: Sep 5, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/diversity Print Guide RSS Updates

GLBT - Resources & History Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

G is for Gay

"Individuals who identify as gay or lesbian have a sexual orientation toward members of their own gender." -From: Else-Quest, Nicole. "Gender and Sexual Orientation." 21st Century Psychology: A Reference Handbook. 2007. SAGE Publications.

 

L is for Lesbian

"A lesbian is a woman or girl who is sexually or romantically attracted to females, or who engages in same-sex behavior or relationships." - From: Cardozo, Patricia R., et al. "Lesbians." Encyclopedia of Human Development. 2005. SAGE Publications.

 

B is for Bisexual

"...bisexuality is believed to indicate the potential to feel attracted to members of both sexes, regardless of whether the feelings are acted upon or not." - From: Bronson, Judith Conoyer. "Bisexuality." Encyclopedia of Human Development. 2005. SAGE Publications.

 

T is for Transgendered

"Transgendered persons exemplify the fluidity of gender and complexity of sexuality. Transgendered individuals assume a different gender identity than that which corresponds to their physiological sex." - From: "Introduction to Transgendereds and Transsexuals." Gender Issues and Sexuality: Essential Primary Sources. Ed. K. Lee Lerner, Brenda Wilmoth Lerner, and Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner. Detroit: Gale, 2006.

 

Q is for Queer & Questioning

"People who are uncomfortable claiming a sexual orientation identity are referred to as questioning . Many people have reclaimed the word queer as a term of empowerment. Some use it primarily as an inclusive term for all people who have a homosexual or bisexual orientation and for those who are intersexed or transgendered. Others use it to emphasize the complexity and fluid nature of human sexuality and gender, to deconstruct the dominant belief in a heterosexual/homosexual binary." - From: Graves, Karen. " Sexuality, Theories of." Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration. 2006. SAGE Publications.

 

I is for Intersexed

"Intersex is a term used to describe someone who has an anatomy that is not clearly either male or female." - From: Sherry, Mark. "Intersex." Encyclopedia of Disability. 2005. SAGE Publications.

Other helpful vocabulary

  • Cisgender
    Cisgender” replaces the terms “nontransgender” or
    “bio man/bio woman” to refer to individuals who have a match between the gender they were assigned at birth, their bodies, and their personal identity. - From: Schilt, Kristen; Westbrook, Laurel (August 2009). "Doing Gender, Doing Heteronormativity: 'Gender Normals,' Transgender People, and the Social Maintenance of Heterosexuality". Gender & Society 23 (4): 440–464.
  • Ally
    Part of the community that urges power "to confront the harassment, violence, and discrimination often directed toward LGBT and questioning students." - From: Blount, Jackie M. "Lesbian/Gay/Bisexual/Transgender Issues in Education." Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration. 2006. SAGE Publications.
  • Gender identity
    "Gender, the socially constructed roles, behaviors, and expectations regarding what it means to be male and female, shifts over time and between cultures and varies from person to person." - From: Graves, Karen. "Sexuality, Theories of." Encyclopedia of Educational Leadership and Administration. 2006. SAGE Publications.
 

It Gets Better Project

Many LGBT youth can't picture what their lives might be like as openly gay adults. They can't imagine a future for themselves. So let's show them what our lives are like, let's show them what the future may hold in store for them.

Topic: Gay Marriage

For articles on the topic of same sex marriage or unions, see these entries from the database Academic Search Premier.

  • Gay Marriages
    An overview of the issue of same-sex unions. From: Osborne, Danny, and Anne Duran. "Gay Marriages." Encyclopedia of Human Development. 2005. SAGE Publications.
  • Same-Sex Marriage and Negative Externalities
    This article examines whether legally recognizing (or prohibiting) same-sex marriage has any adverse impact on societal outcomes specifically related to "traditional family values." From: Langbein, Laura, and Mark A. Yost. "Same-Sex Marriage and Negative Externalities." Social Science Quarterly (Blackwell Publishing Limited) 90.2 (2009): 292-308.
  • Conversation on Marriage for Lesbian and Gay People
    This article provides a frame for the articles on same sex marriage presented in this issue of "Studies in Gender & Sexuality". From: Harris, Adrienne, and Gilbert W. Cole. "Conversation on Marriage for Lesbian and Gay People: Introduction to Lesbian and Gay Marriage Roundtable." Studies in Gender & Sexuality 9.2 (2008): 140-145.

Topic: Don’t Ask Don’t Tell

For articles on the topic of gays in the military, see these entries from the database Academic Search Premier.

  • Don't Ask, Don't Tell
    An overview of the issue of gays in the military. From: "Don't Ask, Don't Tell." Encyclopedia of United States National Security. 2005. SAGE Publications.
  • Gays in the military
    This issue of from the Congressional Record provides a complete overview on the issue of gays in the military. Includes a Gay Rights Timeline and a legislative history of the issue. From: "Gays in the Military." Congressional Digest 89.4 (2010): 97
  • Attitudes of Iraq and Afghanistan War Veterans toward Gay and Lesbian Service Members
    This study analyzes data from a 2006 survey of Iraq and Afghanistan war veterans that shows declining support for the policy of Don't Ask, Don't Tell. From: Moradi, Bonnie, and Laura Miller. "Attitudes of Iraq and Afghanistan War Veterans toward Gay and Lesbian Service Members." Armed Forces & Society (0095327X) 36.3 (2010): 397-419.

Topic: Homosexuality and Psychology

For articles on the topic of the view of homosexuality in professional psychology, see these entries from the database Academic Search Premier.

  • Queer Diagnoses
    "This review explores how criticisms of the existing Gender Identity Disorder diagnoses parallel and contrast with earlier historical events that led American Psychiatric Association to remove homosexuality from the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual in 1973." From: Drescher, Jack. "Queer Diagnoses: Parallels and Contrasts in the History of Homosexuality, Gender Variance, and the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual." Archives of Sexual Behavior 39.2 (2010): 427-460.
  • Ethics of Gender Identity Disorder
    "Gender identity disorder is the only disorder in which treatment is designed to confirm, reinforce, and validate the belief that is the basis of the mental disorder. In all other diagnoses, the symptoms in the diagnostic criteria are viewed as pathological and the goal of treatment is to remove the symptoms. In gender identity disorder, however, the body is altered to match the belief that is said to be a symptom of mental disorder."
  • DSM-IV
    "The DSM-III treated homosexuality as a personality disorder, but the DSM-III-R downgraded it to an ego-dystonic disorder. By the time the DSM-IV was published, homosexuality had been dropped as a mental disorder because of social and political pressure to treat homosexuality as a normal gender choice." - From: Sparrow, G. Scott. "Dsm-IV." Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology. 2006. SAGE Publications.
 

Search the IIT Library Catalog

Use this search box to find books, e-books, DVDs and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

Some common subject terms include: "Identity (Psychology)," "Homosexuality," "Gays," and "Lesbians."

Google Scholar



Get help

Profile Image
Research Help Office on the upper level of Galvin Library

Contact Info
35 W 33rd St
Chicago, IL 60616
(312) 567-3616
Send Email

Topic: Stonewall Riots

  • Stonewall Rebellion
    An overview of the three-day period of rioting and protest that followed a 1969 police raid on New York City's Stonewall Inn. From: Glanville, Priscilla. "Stonewall Rebellion." Encyclopedia of Leadership. 2004. SAGE Publications.
  • Movements and Memory: The Making of the Stonewall Myth
    This article provides a comparative-historical analysis of Stonewall and four events similar to it that occurred in San Francisco, Los Angeles, and New York in the 1960s. From: Armstrong, Elizabeth A., and Suzanna M. Crage. "Movements and Memory: The Making of the Stonewall Myth." American Sociological Review 71.5 (2006): 724-751.
  • Notes on Stonewall
    This article from New Republic discusses the gay rights movement at the Stonewall Inn in Greenwich Village around the planning of Stonewall 25 in 1994. From: Bawer, Bruce. "NOTES ON STONEWALL. (Cover story)." New Republic 210.24 (1994): 24-30.

For additional research see...

  • Academic Search Complete
    One of the largest full-text databases of scholarly information. A good place to start searching for journal articles on any women's studies topic.
  • Gay & Lesbian Studies
    Sample search on the topic "Gay & Lesbian Studies" in Academic Search Premier

Recommended Gay & Lesbian Studies Journals

Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip