CasesEnvironmental EthicsSocial Justice Issues
This is the "Home" page of the "Architectural Engineering" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

Architectural Engineering   Tags: architectural_engineering, engineering  

Last Updated: Sep 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/architecturalengineering Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Create Your Library Accounts

We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.

 

Receive Galvin Library Announcements

We send automated mailings 1-2 times per month to our subscription list.

Get the latest news on new library resources, workshops and services from automated mailings. Sign up here.

  


 

Citation Management

Citation management tools enable researchers to capture "metadata" or information about the information and research sources they use, create bibliographies, add footnotes, and manage research collections.  Some citation management tools also make it easy to share references with other researchers. Two that the library supports are EndNote Web and Zotero. For more information on these see the library's Citation Management guide. For a listing of other citation management tools, see the Digital Research Tools (DiRT) website.

 

Read These Tips Before You Start

Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty.  Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.

1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database.  Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials.  When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user.  When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.

2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before.  Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before. 

3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches.  Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database.  Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.

3. There is no one perfect search.  Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.

4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog.  Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later.  The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time. 

5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want?  We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles.  These are fast and free services.  Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.

6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link.  We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem.  See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.

 

Library News

Check out the latest Galvin Library news from our blog.

Loading Loading...
blank padding
  


 

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office (upper level of the library):

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: rho@iit.edu

Ask us by IM. If the chat widget is displayed below, someone is available right now to answer your questions. 

 

IM widget

 

 

 

 

 

 

  


Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip