Survey
Galvin Library is conducting a survey of international students to discover how they use the library. If you are an international student, please take a few minutes to complete this survey. Your responses will help us to better understand your academic needs and allow us to enhance our research help services.
If you have any questions about the survey, you can contact the international student library services liaison Yi Han via email at yhan27@iit.edu. Thank you for helping us review and revise our services to better serve your research needs! The survey will be open until April 20.
Assignment Requirements
You must use at least outside 6 sources, and only half of them may be online or Internet-based sources (this excludes journal articles). You must also have a “Works Cited” page, and the entire paper must be adequately and appropriately documented in the MLA style.
Find Journal Articles
Before starting to do your research, you need to know what types of resources can be good research resources. These guides will help you to understand what types of resources you can use for you research and where to find them.
- Finding Scholar Journal articlesWhat is a scholar journal article? Where to find it?
- Types of ResourcesWhat types of resources can be good research resources?
- Finding Journals and ArticlesA step by step guide explains how to find scholarly articles.
- 查找期刊文章A finding journals and articles guide in mandarin Chinese guide.
- 如何写论文Use this guide to learn how to write a research paper. View some differences between writing styles in China and in the US.
Recommended Database
- Academic Search PremierThe largest database at IIT, Academic Search Premier is a great place to start searching information on your topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.
- Keywords WorksheetsKey words are words or phrases that explain your topic. All searches start with at least one key word, whether it's a simple or complex search. Use this worksheets to help create a list of keywords for your search.
Find Books
There are a few places to search for books:
1. Start here:
Find books, e-books, DVDs, government documents, print journals and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries:
2. Didn't find what you wanted? Need more books?
You can find and request books from 76 other universities in Illinois using the I-Share Catalog. Books arrive in about 3 business days, and you will be notified via email when they arrive.
Create Your Library Accounts
Your student ID card is also your Library card. To start using the Library you need to set up two accounts: My I-share/IIT Account and MyILL Account.
- Create a My I-share/IIT Account (Book Request)My I-Share/IIT Account is an online tool that allows you to manage your library account. You can view items checked out from IIT and I-Share libraries, renew your books, check the status of I-Share requests, and see if there are any fines or holds on your account.
- How to create and use an account in the IIT/I-Share catalog (PDF)
- Create a MyILL account (Article Request)MyILL allows you to access information about your Interlibrary Loan requests. Inside MyILL you can see your current requests and request history, retrieve your requested documents, and see what books from WorldCat you have checked out.
- How to create and use a MyILL account (PDF)
Tips for Evaluating Websites
Not all websites were created equal. When determining how or if you should use a specific website in your work, run it through the CRAP test. Does the site pass the test, or is it a bunch of...?
-
Currency
- How recent is the information?
- How recently has the website been updated?
- Is it current enough for your topic?
-
Reliability
- What kind of information is included in the resource?
- Is the content of the resource primarily opinion? Is it balanced?
- Does the creator provide references or sources for data or quotations?
-
Authority
- Who is the creator or author?
- What are the credentials?
- Who is the published or sponsor?
- Are they reputable?
- What is the publisher's interest (if any) in this information?
- Are there advertisements on the website?
-
Purpose/Point of View
- Is this fact or opinion?
- Is it biased?
- Is the creator/author trying to sell you something?
(originally from the LOEX 2008 wiki)
- Evaluating Books, Websites, ArticlesUse the checklist to evaluate books, websites, articles
Created by UNC University Libraries
Subject Guide |
Contact Info Email: yhan27@iit.edu Paul V. Galvin Library 35 West 33rd Street Chicago, IL 60616 312.567.5991 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: International Students |
Tips & Tutorials
- Helpful information for international studentsThis guide contains helpful information for international students about using Galvin Library.
- Video and PDF instruction GuidesGalvin Library provides PDF and video guides that answer many common questions about using the library. We add new guides frequently, so check back often!
- 在线指导教程及提示指南(Quick Tips & Tutorials in Chinese)
MLA Style Works Cited
The MLA Style (Modern Language Association) is the most common form used for citing sources in the liberal arts and humanities. Galvin Library has a print copy of MLA Handbook for Research Paper Writers, REF.LB2369.G532009. Use the following handouts to learn MLA Works Cited for books and articles. Go to Purdue's Online Writing Lab to view more expamples.
To learn how to use Zotero and EndNoteWeb to create your citation, view the Citation Management guide.
Questions?
Contact Galvin Library:
Research Help Office (for help with research):
reference@iit.edu
(312) 567-3616
Circulation Desk (for help with your library accounts):
circdesk@iit.edu
(312) 567-6847
---



Loading...
