LibGuides: History: Articles and Databases

Library Search Tool

The library search tool allows you to simultaneously search multiple platforms for articles, books, videos and more. You can find the search box on the library's website.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete Contains more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, the majority being peer-reviewed journals. It also provides an index to additional journals, books, reports, and conference proceedings. It covers a wide range of topics and is a good place to start researching a topic.

ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. To download images you will need to create an account in ARTstor.
Dissertations and Theses Online database of doctoral dissertations and master's theses. Full-text is available for many items, and ordering/purchasing information is included for those items with no full-text.
Google Dataset search
Google Dataset Search is a search engine for datasets. Using a simple keyword search, users can discover freely available datasets hosted in thousands of open access repositories across the Web.
Harper's Weekly
Online archive of issues of Harper's Weekly, one of America's leading 19th-century illustrated newspapers. Access is available from 1857-1912.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States is an online database of statistics, tables, charts, and other quantitative data covering the history of the United States. Census data from 1790 to 2000 is the source for the data.
JSTOR JSTOR (Journal STORage) is an archive of important scholarly journals in a variety of subject related to the humanities, physical sciences, and social sciences. JSTOR is not the place to search for the most current research, but overall is an excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages is available.

Newspapers and other primary sources

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
The Times (London) This link opens in a new window
Complete issues of The Times (London) from 1785 to 2014. Includes headlines, articles, images, editorials, advertisements and from the United Kingdom's paper of record.
Google News Archive Search
Search historical archives of newspapers and other news sources
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers
International directory of digital newspaper collections. It is a freely accessible electronic resource intended to provide reliable information on newspapers published outside of the United States.
ArchiveGrid
ArchiveGrid allows users to locate primary source materials held in archives, libraries, museums, and historical societies using an interactive map. The map provides users with the locations and collection types at each point denoting the presence of an archival collection. Users are supplied with the contact information to the location of materials and may call to arrange an appointment to view the materials or for general inquiries.

Intute
Intute is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research. After you conduct a search you can limit your results to Primary Source.

Voices of the Holocaust
Digital collection offering access to text and audio of first-hand interviews conducted in 1946 with victims of the Nazi holocaust by former IIT professor David P. Boder.
ARTstor
ARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences with a suite of software tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. To download images you will need to create an account in ARTstor.
David Rumsey Historical Map Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented.

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more. You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section under settings This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.

Head of Reference and Instruction Services

Nichole Novak

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Paul V. Galvin Library
35 W. 33rd St.
Chicago, IL 60616

312.567.3613

Subjects: Anthropology, Art and Architectural History, Design, Digital Humanities, History, Humanities, International Library Services, IPRO, Literature, Philosophy