Getting Started
While completing your studies in the College of Architecture you will search for and read scholarly articles that will further your research and your projects. This guide will offer you some basic steps in doing research at IIT.
A bit about me: I am NOT an Architecture Librarian, so I am sure your next question is why am I teaching this session? I have been a librarian for more than a dozen years earning first a Masters degree in Library and Information Science, then a second Masters in business a few years ago. This means I am an expert searcher who can show you how to find the type of material your professor expects in your papers and projects.
What I can do for you: I meet with students all the time who contact me and ask for assistance. Any librarian can help with research but if you send me an email (piotrowski@iit.edu) letting me know what your topic is, what you've done already, and what hasn't worked, I'll get back to you as soon as I can with ideas to help you along. No question is too small or too large.
What I can't do for you: I can guide you to databases and show you tips on using them optimally, but I can't tell you which articles are "the best" for your assignment. That's your decision and part of your research process.
Create Your Library Accounts
We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.
- Article RequestMyILL is the library's interlibrary loan system. Use this when the library does not have the articles you need. Articles typically arrive 3-7 business days later, sometimes faster.
- How-to Guide for Creating Your MyILL Account
- Book RequestCreate an account to request books from the 76 other universities we share with in the I-Share catalog. Your barcode is your IIT ID number (A200...).
- How-to Guide for Creating Your I-Share Account
Read These Tips Before You Start
Librarians often find themselves repeating the same research tips when they meet with students and faculty. Taking a few minutes to read this list of helpful hints could save you tons of time when you are searching.
1. Always start from the library website or this guide when you want to access a database. Most databases need to know that you are authorized to access their materials. When you go to a database's web site it will not be able to identify that you are an approved user. When you go through an IIT library page you will be able to authenticate correctly and use the database right away.
2. Spend a few minutes test driving a database you've never used before. Check out the help guides, try a few searches, and see how this database may be different from ones you've used before.
3. Most databases don't search the way Google searches. Entering a long phrase such as "how computer automation is used in federal government" in one search box doesn't usually work in a database. Check the database's help section to learn how to best search that particular database.
3. There is no one perfect search. Try many searches in many places to find what you are looking for.
4. Take advantage of any "folders" or "lists" available in the database or library catalog. Use these to keep track of articles or books you will want to read later. The URL at the top of the page is often a session-specific URL, meaning it will only work that one time.
5. Does the library not have immediate access to the article or book you want? We can get you nearly every book or article you want to read using our I-Share catalog for books or MyILL for articles. These are fast and free services. Use the box above to create your accounts so you can begin requesting items.
6. Please let us know when you are having any troubles from choosing the best databases to fixing a dead link. We can't help or fix it if we don't know there's a problem. See our Ask a Librarian page to contact us by IM, email, phone or in person.
Subject Guide |
Questions?
Get help from the Research Help Office:
phone: (312) 567-3616
email: reference@iit.edu
Ask us with IM:
Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).
---




Loading...
Loading...
