This is the "HUM106 - Life Stories" page of the "HUM106 - Life Stories" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Illinois Institute of Technology My IIT

HUM106 - Life Stories  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.iit.edu/HUM106 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
HUM106 - Life Stories Print Page
  Search: 
 

Academic Search Premier

Start your search for articles with this database.

  • Academic Search Premier
    This database is a good place to start searching for information on almost any topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.

Example searches in Academic Search Premier

  • Women authors
    The search string is:
    ZE "WOMEN authors"
    ZE=Descriptor/Subject
  • Feminism
    The search string is:
    ZE "FEMINISM"
    ZE=Descriptor/Subject

Other Recommended Databases

Use these links to other databases to continue your search for articles.

  • JSTOR
    An excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Biology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, and Psychology.
  • Project Muse
    This database offers a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Every journal is indexed and peer-reviewed.

How-to Guides for Databases

These guides will help you better use our databases and find articles.

 

Find Books

There are a few places to search for books:

1. Start here:

Find books, e-books, DVDs, government documents, print journals and anything else kept inside the IIT Libraries:

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

 

2. Didn't find what you wanted? Need more books? 

You can find and request books from 76 other universities in Illinois using the I-Share Catalog.  Books arrive in about 3 business days, and you will be notified via email when they arrive.

by
Advanced Search | How to Find Books

 

3. If the book you want is not available at IIT or through I-Share, search WorldCat.

Example book search

 

Optimize Google Scholar

Why?

When Google Scholar knows you're an IIT student, it can link you directly to any articles you search for that IIT has available in full-text. This allows you to take advantage of Google's great indexing capabilities linked to the more than 35,000 full-text journals that IIT has access to. 

How?

From your favorite browser, go to Google Scholar preferences page. Add "Illinois Institute of Technology" to the library links section. This will allow Google Scholar to access IIT's databases to locate your article in full-text. 

 

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a popular way to search for scholarly articles, reports, books and more.  You can connect Google Scholar to IIT's libraries from the library links section of Scholar Preferences. This way, when you find an article you'd like to read you will be able to see if we have the article or be directed to MyILL to request it.



My Profile

Profile Image
John Dorr
Contact Info
Paul V. Galvin Library
35 West 33rd Street
Chicago, IL 60616

312.567.3615
Send Email
 

Questions?

Get help from the Research Help Office:

phone: (312) 567-3616

email: reference@iit.edu

Or see our Ask a Librarian Page.

Create Your Library Accounts

We recommend creating your two library accounts before you begin researching to increase efficiency when researching. You'll need the accounts to request books and articles from other libraries.

Citation Management Tools

Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process.  Here are some recommended tools:

© 2008 Paul V. Galvin Library   35 W. 33rd Street  Chicago, IL 60616
Phone: 312.567.3616   Fax: 312.567.5318   Email: library@iit.edu
Comments & Suggestions || Site Index || Site Search

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip