Academic Search Premier
Start your search for articles with this database.
- Academic Search PremierThis database is a good place to start searching for information on almost any topic. Covering all areas of academic study, this database contains indexing and abstracting for more than 8,200 magazines and journals, of which more than 3,600 are full-text.
Example searches in Academic Search Premier
- FeminismThe search string is:
ZE "FEMINISM"
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Women and SocialismThe search string is:
ZE "WOMEN & socialism"
ZE=Descriptor/Subject - Women's rights and AfricaThe search string is:
ZE "WOMEN'S rights"+ AFRICA
ZE=Descriptor/Subject
Other Recommended Databases
Use these links to other databases to continue your search for articles.
- JSTORAn excellent multidisciplinary database containing articles from many essential peer-reviewed sources. Subjects covered include Anthropology, Biology, Economics, Mathematics, Philosophy, Political Science, and Psychology.
- Project MuseThis database offers a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals. Every journal is indexed and peer-reviewed.
- LexisNexis Academic Universe
Full-text documents from over 5,900 news, business, legal, and reference publications. Great for current news articles. Also includes U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information. - Newspaper SourceNewspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for 35 national (U.S.) & international newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), and Toronto Star. The database also contains selective full text for more than 375 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including The Chicago Tribune, The Detroit Free Press, and The San Jose Mercury News. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, and NPR.
- ARTstorARTstor is a digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Other Recommended Resources
Use these links to find quality primary sources on the web.
- ICON: International Colalition on NewspaperThis page highlights and links to digitized collections of historic newspapers.
- IntuteIntute is a free online service that helps you to find the best web resources for your studies and research. After you conduct a search you can limit your results to Primary Source.
- Google News Archive Search"News archive search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. In addition to searching for the most relevant articles for their query, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline."
How-to Guides for Databases
These guides will help you better use our databases and find articles.
- Finding Journal ArticlesHow to select and search databases.
- Finding Scholarly ArticlesWhere to find scholarly articles.
- Using Get ArticleHow to use our full text article retriever.
- Finding articles from a citationA short video on how to use the Article Finder service.
- Access databases from off-campusHow to access our databases using the MyIIT portal.
Search the I-Share Catalog
Use this search box to find books in the I-Share Catalog.
Search the IIT Library Catalog
Use this search box to find books in the IIT Libraries.
Find a specific article
Need to find a specific article quickly? The Articles by Citation form below will connect you to the database that has the article, or take you to MyILL to request the article. Watch this video to learn how to find articles when you have a citation.
Search for a Journal
To find a journal either electronically or in print, type all or part of the journal title in the box below.
To search for journals by subject area, click the By Subject tab.
Browse Recommended Journals
- JSTORBrowse the 99 history titles in JSTOR, an archive of important scholarly journals.
- Project MuseBrowse all history titles in Project Muse, a group of the prestigious journals in the humanities and social sciences.
- All History TitlesBrowse all the titles in history at IIT.
My Profile |
Links: Profile & Guides |
Questions?
You can ask Galvin staff basic research questions from anywhere. Type your question in the box below.
Available whenever the library is open (Library hours).
---
Citation Management Tools
Citation management tools are the easiest way to keep organized and save time throughout the research and writing process. Here are some recommended tools:
- Most recommended: Zotero (for Firefox only)Create personal collections of online documents, add notes and tags, export citations. Very simple to use. (Firefox only).
- EndNote Web Web-based version of the popular software. Manage citations & references, create bibliographies online



Loading...
